Christmas Casserole Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I have been making these cookies for years. Love them!! I make sure my hands are damp and the cookie dough is very cool, before rolling in balls. I use the sugar to roll in , also nuts and or coconut. I have some cooling right now. YUM Thanks Peggy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
These were VERY yummy, yes, a little messy to roll, but that was 1/2 the fun! My kids thought there were "just sweet enough"! Will add this to my holiday goodie tray :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
These are AWESOME! They are super easy (I mixed everything together in the food processor - adding nuts at the very end with a few quick pulses). I waited a few hrs for the cooked mixture to cool and it was super easy to work with. I rolled half in reg sugar and half in icing sugar (for contrast) but i think I prefer the regular sugar (they're so pretty!). My kids normally shun dates, but I told them these were "sugarplums" and they LOVED them. I made them small (one-bite sized), which I will do again. Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This cookie is addicting so better double the recipe. I have made them with both walnuts and pecans. I didn't have dates so used diced dried figs. I finally, after 3 batches, remembered to butter my hands. This made rolling them so much easier. If doubling the recipe it will take longer in the oven. I think I had to give it 45 minutes instead of 30. Thanks Peggy for a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Happy accident. I accidentally added a third egg and did not have enough dates and walnuts to correct my mistake so in the spirit of using up leftover ingredients I used the following instead of the original recipe: 3 eggs, 1 1/4 cup sugar, 1 cup walnuts, 1/2 pecans, 1 cup dates, 1/2 cranberries, 1 1/2 t. vanilla, 1 1/2 cup coconut flakes and 1/4 t almond extract. When rolling in the sugar, I added some cinnamon. Overall it was superb. Thanks for the original recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Norland

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I added two scoops of vanilla whey protein powder, and substituded half the sugar with splenda and they turned out delicious. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Made these in 2010 and they are top of my list for 2011! Love them!!! A bit messy to make - but worth it! I believe I followed the recipe as written last year and plan to do the same again this year. My preference was for smaller balls - maybe the size of a large shooter marble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONNIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austintown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Milton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I needed to use up some dates that I bought for a different recipe and didn't make. And gluten free was a bonus. These were perfect. I did stir a couple times while baking, but I don't think I needed to. Just at the end would work fine. I followed another reviewers suggestion and left it overnight before working with it. And thank you to the reviewer who formed the mixture into logs using plastic or paper and then cut off pieces to form into balls and roll in the sugar. That made it go super fast and really contained the stickiness. The first person to try them asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by radio robin
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Excellent! I was looking for a way to use the few ingredients I had and satisfy my sweet tooth, this was perfect. Super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I got this recipe more than 30 years ago from a Christmas cookie exchange party in Denver. It has become a tradition in my family to make them at Christmas. My recipe says to take the casserole out of the oven every 10 minutes and scrape the sides with a fork to keep the coconut from getting burned on the edges. (The problem is that it tastes so good that I have to eat a forkful each time I stir. Yummy!!) I usually let it cool overnight, and roll them into small balls the next day. You can freeze them after you roll them into balls. I then roll them in powdered sugar, not granulated. They are best just big enough to pop in your mouth, not bite. (powdered sugar can be a little messy to eat.) Everyone loves these. My daughter-in-law made them with dried cherries when she didn't have dates. Yes these are messy to make....but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States