Christmas Candy Cane Cookies (Cookie Mix) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
The cookies tasted good but it ended up being a sticky mess. You must form a small candy cane and spread them apart at least 2 inches for baking. Mine were formed too big and just blended together in the oven. I also cut the dough in half, made one red with food coloring and one green. The made really neat cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I just made these and they are so easy and so cute! They taste good too. They are a perfect cookie for leaving out for Santa on Christmas Eve or giving as a gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
After completing the recipe, I searched for some solutions as my dough did not come out firm enough to twist. After search, I found the original recipe on Betty Crocker's homepage which stated to Soften butter, rather than Melting the butter. They are still delicious, but I found them to be close to impossible to twist like candy canes. Add some crushed up candy canes to the mix though...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
These where fun to do with the kids and they were the best tasting cany can cookies I have had. The only problem I had is they break real easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This was tasty, easy and cute. I admit the first few cookies didn't look so great, but after trying a few different ways of twisting them together, I found one that worked well and I got into a groove. I just picked up the two rolls and started twisting them with my right hand while holding the left side in place. After a few twists the whole thing was twisted together and I put it down on the cookie sheet, curved one end and made any necessary adjustments to the twist so they looked nice. However, I think you'll need more than 2 drops of red food coloring to get the red color in the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
These tasted good but it was hard to shape them. I ended up getting frustrated and only made half the batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
Very easy to make and delicious too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bergen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I Love this recipe, not only is it cute,fun and delicous but its the easiest one you'll find. Im requested every year to make them for christmas for everyone.Although there even yummier if u add cream cheese to the mix!...Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States