Christmas Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
THE SPICE WASN'T A GOOD TOUCH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
After converting this recipe to metric I then poured the dry ingridents into Australian measuring cups. My husband helped, so we had two people ensuring the QA process, though if it goes wrong, blame the chef, not the recipe!! or me!! 2 1/2 cups glace cherries - not chopped; 1 1/2 cups mixed citrus peel; 2 cups raisins ;1 cup currants ;1 1/4 cup sultanas (substitution for dates); 1 1/4 cup slivered almonds; 120 ml brandy; 1/2 cup flour for the dredging; 2 cups flour for the batter; 1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda (same as baking soda); 1/2 teaspoon cloves - I sub with ginger spice instead cloves too strong;1/2 teaspoon all spice - I add 1 teaspoon 1/2 teaspoon cinamon - I add one teaspoon ;1/2 teaspoon of salt; 250g butter, as I could not be bothered leaving behind the 25 grams - your choice;3 cups brown sugar; 6 eggs; 180ml treacle - same as molasses; 180ml apple juice - little tetra packs handy size to buy. Pleased double check ingredients against original recipe and for the spices please use your taste buds as some may require more. As there is heaps of batter use non stick baking paper to extend above the side of the tins, go at least 5cm as it does raise pretty high. Also from my experience it took about 3.5 hours in a fan forced oven. I based this on a 20cm round pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
I've used this recipe for my Christmas cake for the past three years and have had nothing but compliments. Have found using nutmeg instead of allspice gives better flavour. Make early and dredge in brandy weekly for best results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
We are English so icing and marzipan were a must on this deliciously moist cake. I started making it at the beginning of December and soaked the fruit in brandy for two days. I was unable to get currants so added more raisins. Three hours in the oven and it was cooked to perfection. I stored it for a couple of weeks then covered it with almond paste and icing. A ribbon around the edge, a santa, angel and christmas tree made it look seasonal. Thank you Carol; this is my first go at making a Christmas cake (should not admit that, but it is) and I felt like Chef Ramsey when my husband said "This is so scrumptious, can I have another piece?."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Moist, rich flavourfull cake that I recieved rave reviews on. I did afew changes to the recipe..omitted the coloured cherries used about 1/2 cup of home made pureed orange rind to have a touch of orange flaviour through the cake..added (1 cup each )walnuts, pecans, brazil nuts chopped small because I do love nuts ..and I doubled the dates..Last note I found that I didn't need to bake my cakes as indicated they were ready in 2 hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
just emigrated from uk and left my usual recipe in uk, so even though late for me to do cake (nov) i chanced this one. What excellent results, the only change i made was instead of 2 cups raisins used 1 cup of sultans in place, and as late making it i dosed with brandy every few days up until christmas. Its been eaten already and theres only the two of us. (wheres the nearest gym) Now the 3rd year of making this cake, I made a mistake and bought prunes instead of dates. Wow its even better. Only November and one cake already gone, lucky I made 3 by doubling up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blackpool, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
A realy beautiful cake with a totally different flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
An excellent cake. I use 2x loaf pans vice a 8x8x3 inch pan and they work out great with roughly the same amount of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This is THE best Christmas cake ever! I grew up in the UK and have had many Xmas cakes and loved this the most. I made it a month before serving which is short but it still turned out flavourful. I cooled the cake and then poked holes with a skewer and poured 1/4C of brandy before wrapping up and storing in a cool place. I repeated the process twice more. I then put marzipan icing, let dry and topped off with fondant icing and decorations. I was iffy about how it would be received by Americans since I think English Christmas cakes are an acquired taste but EVERYBODY loved this cake! So it's really worth the effort. I'm going to make mine in Sept. next year and I'm also going to make one for my Irish mum for her to keep till Christmas! It's moist, dark, spicey, and really full of flavour! Very best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This is the best Christmas cake recipe ever! I have been using it for years at Christmas and also for wedding cakes and other celebrations. best when quite a few months to a year old
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stuart Fraser

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crawley, Sussex, England, U.K.
Living In: Shrewsbury, Shropshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States