Christmas Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I tried this recipie for the first time and it came out far better than I ever expected. I don't drink so I replaced the brandy with more apple juice. I experimented a little with the ingedeances but it really turned out fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I've never made Christmas Cake before but decided to give it a go this year. This recipe is fantastic. I made two cakes - one is stored away for Christmas and we've already eaten the first cake. I made no changes and found the recipe really easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I switched the dates for sultanas and added a little cherry brandy in addition to the brandy that the fruit absorbed overnight. I haven't tasted the cake yet but it looks and smells wonderful. Thanks for sharing, this one is a keeper. This cake tastes wonderful, we'll be eating it for a while but it keeps well. I decorated it with almond paste and fondant icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
It was hard , unmoist , and I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Everyone loved this. I made about 4 weeks before Xmas- wrapped it up good and tight and every week I would open it and poke wholes in it with a toothpick and pour a cap full of brandy over it. I don't eat Christmas cake but everyone loved it. Said it was so moist and tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hanover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Made this cake last christmas and with all the additions of nuts I added I am able to make two cakes of 9" pans. The reviews of this cake was endless!! Here are my changes due to my love for nuts and dislike of mix citris. I omitted the cherries. I used my home made orange rind minced fine. Doubled the (orange flaviored)currants used 3-4 cups dates. Addition to the almonds added another 4-5 cups of brazil, pecans, walnuts,hazil nuts..Doubled the seasoning. This cake for me bakes nicely within 2 1/2 hours at 250 degrees. After 2 hours I check to see how it is with a tooth pick or fine knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I have been looking for the "perfect" cake recipe to replace my Mother's Christmas Cake receipe which has been lost. I shall look no further. I can't wait to start baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Excellent cake. Made three. Gave two away. Ate one. Need to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blind Bay, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This is the best christmas cake we ever had, we were able to store it until sprint:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
like delicius,thanx. yemekyapye
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yemekyapye

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States