Christmas Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Two just came out the oven...looking and smelling so good I'm glad there are two - the first one isnt going to last but the second I am going to hide (from myself!!) and see what its like after 6 weeks.... Easy to make - couldnt find peel so I will make some for next year - I just added more fruit...mmmmm...thanks for the awesome recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Made this cake for my hubby's birthday in the summer - he is from California but just LOVES a British style fruitcake - he says its the BEST ever. Just made it yesterday in preparation for Christmas......:) PS - this DOES make a bigger cake than stated but is was still baked in 3 hours - i used a 10" round cake pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie Calavan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Love this! I have made this for my Christmas party 3 years in a row and everyone loves it! Someone who had it two years ago was still talking about it when I met her recently. I reduce the sugar by at least half - it is more than sweet enough with all the fruit. And I add candied ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I made this recipe today and loved it. However, I admit I did change what fruits I added. I left out the citron instead adding a cup of dried cranberries and a cup of candied pineapple that I snipped into smaller pieces. I also add a lot of nuts in addition to the almonds. I added 1/2 cup each of pecans, chopped walnuts and chopped hazelnuts. I added the zest of a lemon to the dry ingredients, and to the apple juice mixture I added a tsp of vanilla, and 1T of Grand marnier. Because of the extra ingredients, I added an extra 1/4 cup of flour to the flour that was mixed with the fruits and nuts. I did not change the batter quantities at all except I used extra large eggs instead of large eggs. Finally, while it was baking, I opened the oven door at every 1 hour interval or whenever the top looked dry, and brushed on a Basting liquid of 1/2c of apple juice plus 2T of Brandy +2T of Grand Marnier and 1/4 cup whiskey. This cake looks and smells delicious, but I will not taste it until a month from now. I have looked online at many other recipes, and I think this is the best. Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This cake was cooked in One Hour and a half, did any one else notice this , A Very Beautiful cake, I soaked my fruit over night in Grand Marnier, Very Moist !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I made this Christmas cake last year for my husband who is obsessed with Christmas cake. He (and I) loved it! I used the exact recipe except I used gluten-free all-purpose flour (had no problems with texture or crumbling). I soaked the fruit in brandy for a week, baked the cake around Halloween, and fed it 2 tablespoons of brandy every week. About 2 weeks before Christmas I covered the cake with apricot jam, homemade marzipan, then with homemade sugar paste one week later. My British in-laws tried some when they visited in March and gave rave reviews. I will begin the process again this weekend and plan to make several cakes to give as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Fantastic recipe! This came out perfect, everyone in my family was obsessed with it at Christmas last year. I just thawed the portion I'd frozen to enjoy over the summer and it still tastes amazing. (I soaked my fruit overnight in brandy btw)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belleamoura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linden, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waveland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I’m a novice to cake making so i didn’t expect this to be such a success, especially as i only used the basic recipe as my benchmark!! i soak the fruit for about ten days & add lots of extra fruit too, such as prunes & other yummy dried fruit which may soak up the alcohol and i double the amount of cherries. After cooked i feed the cake for about 6 weeks with a good quality brandy. This is a lovely cake, the best I’ve ever tasted (even my critic mum loves it) my sister bakes as a profession and the taste is even better than hers (even if not so pretty looking!) i think i will use this recipe forever. This year ive soaked the fruit in mulled wine and tia-marie & will feed cooked cake with brandy as usual. Ive made three cakes this year! One large one for my mum Thankyou xxxxx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macclesfield, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Best Christmas/fruit cake recipe I've found ever. I keep to the weights of fruit and nuts but replace the whole lot with whatever dried fruit I've got at the time due to family allergies. Also I hate candied peel so use zest of a lemon and orange instead. You can soak the fruit for as long as you like, personally I soak mine in about a cup of port for a few months before cooking and then after cooking regularly baste the cake with port and masala for a few months before eating. Have some sitting here beside me in August that is still delicious from last years 6 cake effort baked in October, the longer you soak the longer it'll keep! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I tried this cake for Christmas for the first time and it came out very well just as described! it was a big hit!! & my cake was done in abt. 2 hrs. It's a very good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States