Christmas Brunch Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
This is very easy to make, as promised, and is not "bad", but is kind of bland "as is". I can make the following suggestions: first, double the amount of eggs stated from 4 to 8. "Eight is enough!" (Ok, I'm sorry, that was cheesy.) :) Speaking of cheese - use sharp cheddar, more than what she recommends (a cup, also, doesn't appear to be substantial enough) and don't add it until maybe the last 20-25 minutes or so. If you leave it on the entire time it gets really dry and too crispy, almost burned in places. You want it to be nice and melty, not dried out. Thirdly - more is needed to give the dish some oomph. I would recommend doing any of the following: tossing in some chopped green pepper to the onion/mushroom mixture, adding some Tabasco sauce to the egg mixture, or topping with pepperjack cheese instead of cheddar (and again - only during the last 20 minutes!). I made this dish for an Easter brunch with my husband and my parents - all ate their portions, but they all gave me suggestions as to how this could be better the second time around. I also have to say that using Oscar Meyer pre-cooked bacon saves LOADS of time and doesn't leave your whole house smelling of bacon grease! My parents also suggested that you could use ground sausage, spicy or non-spicy, or perhaps some cubed ham (as other members have suggested) instead of the bacon. I hope my suggestions have helped! Again, this is not a bad recipe, just needs some tweeking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
423 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
This is a good breakfast recipe but I'm not sure if the presentation is so appealing (minor flaw). I layer per directions and noticed my top was cooking faster than the bottom. By the end, the top was beyond done while the bottom was somewhat mushy. It still had a good taste and the second time I made it, I mixed it all together. Solidified better and blended well. I also added sauted green bell peppers, used sharp cheddar cheese, 1 tsp dry mustard, 1 cup of chopped ham and 6 eggs instead of 4. Second time was a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
282 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
My family really enjoyed this for breakfast. I would recommend adding 2 more eggs, covering and baking for 45 minutes instead of 1 hour. I also used full pkg of shredded cheese on top. The house smelt wonderful and my family was delighted with their full tummies. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2004
I too made a few changes and it turned out great!I used 6 eggs, 1 can cream mushroom soup, 1/2 cup sour cream, only 1 cup milk and 2 cups cheddar. I also used only 1/2 Lb bacon. Layer 1/2 potatoe and veggie mixture, then all of cheese then remaining potatoes. This will keep cheese from getting hard and crusty. Mix all of liquid ingredients well and pour over top. Liquid should cover potatoes. I baked in 7 x 11 glass casserole dish. A smaller pan will also keep it from getting too dry. 375 for 45 min then top with French's Onions last few minutes of baking time. Great Mother Day brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
This was very good! I made a few adjustments to the recipe. I reduced the oven temperature to 350 degrees. I used thick-sliced pepper bacon, which I cut into 1-inch pieces before cooking, so the bacon could be evenly distributed. Be sure to drain fat between frying batches of bacon, so your bacon will be crispy. To save time, I used an 8-oz. package of sliced fresh mushrooms. I also deleted the 1Tablespoon of butter used to sauté the onions and mushrooms, and cooked them in 1 Tablespoon of bacon grease. I increased the eggs to 6. I did cover and refrigerate overnight. My casserole was cooked in 45 minutes. Thanks Pam for sharing! I will definitely cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
Excellent! Everyone enjoyed this when I made it for Christmas morning! It was so easy with most of the prep done the night before, so I was able to spend the morning with my family instead of in the kitchen. I used more eggs than the recipe called for (I used 6 or 8... I can't remember because it was a couple of months ago), and I omitted the mushrooms because we don't care for them. The only thing I would do differently next time is use less salt (maybe eliminate the plain salt and only use the garlic salt and maybe a little seasoned salt)- it was plenty salty with the bacon. Really almost too salty. But still good! I will definitely make this again! Oh, it was very good leftover, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
Delicious! Nice alternative to the usual sausage breakfast casseroles. I added 10 eggs instead of the 4 as I wanted mine more eggy. I also added a little red pepper for color. Good leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
Made this for Christmas morning; it was easy to prepare and tasted GREAT! We used Tony Chachere's seasoning since my family likes our food spicy and we used precooked bacon to save time. We also mixed up the potatoes, bacon, onion and mushrooms as suggested. The only change I would make next time is to add the extra couple of eggs as suggested by others. Will definately be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAVLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
The recipe only calls for 4 eggs, and they act as more of a binding agent than an element of flavor. I add 2 to 4 more eggs to include all the tastes of a great breakfast. A little greasy and fattening, but always gets rave reviews! Perfect for a once-a-year special breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
It was delicious! So nice to get up Christmas morning and really not have to cook, just throw it in the oven. I used the hash browns with the peppers and onions already in it and it make it faster. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States