Christmas Brunch Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I found this recipe on this website about 6 years ago. I have been making it on Christmas Eve to have Christmas morning ever since. We all love it. Do not be afraid of all the onions in it. They add an almost caramel sweetness to the dish once they are sauteed in the butter and soaked overnight and then baked. The only thing I have done different over the years is substitute sausage or ham for the bacon. It just depends what we are in the mood for that year. But I definitely give this five stars! Thank you for adding to our Christmas tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
What a fantastic dish. I've had it with many different variations but all of them following the basic premise of the recipe and all of them delicious. When I make it I skip the mushrooms and use some red and green peppers instead to add to the Christmas theme. I also mix it all up as others have suggested and add the cheese near the end of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Really tasty. Loved the ideas that c-jay provided with more eggs and cream of mushroom soup. I did not have onion, so I used a cup and a half chopped celery and half cup garlic chives. Good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mindy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Delicious! I felt like it needed just a bit more moisture, as the hashbrown part was a little dry. But the flavor was wonderful. Maybe an additional egg would do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
It gets all stars for ease and taste. I used hasbrowns with the onions and peppers in the mix and added the onions called for in the recipe and skipped the mushrooms. Super yummy. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This was a hit for Fathers Day. I will be making it again but next time I invite some people to help eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Exellent! I added an extra egg and it come out fabulous. I also thinly sliced 2 tomatoes and layed them on the tol of the casserole before baking. It looked great! My family typically does not like casseroles and they loved this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hadorsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bolton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Changed the recipe a quite a bit, but was a great base recipe. Very easy to substitute ingredients to your liking. Used 9 eggs, potatoes O'brien, 1/2 cup chopped jalapeno pepper, 1/2 cup cup-up tomato, 1 lb sausage, and about 3/4 lb chopped ham. Left out the salt. Left out the onion and mushrooms, as was in too much of a hurry to prepare and cook them. Did add some dry onion to the egg mixture. Layered it as suggested by a reviewer--1/2 potatoes on the bottom, covered with the cheese, meat, vegetable mixture, and topped with the rest of the potatoes. Baked it the same day. Then sprinkled about 3/4 cup shredded cheese on top, 10 minutes before it was done. Looked very nice when cut with the layers. Very presentable with the cheese topping. Very filling and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Wonderful basic recipe! Comes out great whenever we make it. For the first time, we've made it today and are cooking it in the morning for Easter. YUM! I can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie King Pitney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bath, Maine, USA
Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
It's not like this was a bad recipe... it just wasn't out of the world yum. I wonder what other people added to it to add flavor, but I did find that it lacked flavor and tasted much better when served with salsa. The only changes I made was to add olives but IF I make it again I would add seasoned salt to the potatos, then add diced green chilis and red peppers or some other veggies, then go without the bacon and substitute ham instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States