Christmas Brunch Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This is so yummy!!! everyone loved it! I will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
The family loved this and I took the advice and added 6 eggs. My 7 year old does not like potatoes and did not realize he was eating them. We snacked on it all day. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This was good and would have been better if I had actually watched it so it did not brown so much. It would be less cooking time for me next time. But it was tasty. I made it as written and had no problems with it being dry. Also I did not let it sit overnight but just threw it in the oven. It turned out fine. I also used 8 eggs instead of the 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shoreview, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This was a good starter recipe for a breakfast casserole that doesn't use bisquick. I used 8 eggs and sweet Italian sausage, no mushrooms but red and green onions, and mixed the hashbrowns in with the eggs and sausage instead of layering. Still used the same amount of milk, but added spices ad seasonings our family likes, red pepper flakes, onion and garlic powder/salt, Italian seasonings, etc. We never really go by the spice amounts on any recipes, just what we are feeling at the time. I reduced the heat to 350, covered for thirty min, added 2 cups cheese and baked uncovered for 30 more min, and it was perfectly cooked, all bubbly and browned on top. Very yummy and easy to prepare Christmas Eve. Got to enjoy a great hot breakfast Christmas morning without spending it in the kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This is a good recipe although I did change some things, so the rating is with my changes. Going by other suggestions I used 8 eggs and only one cup of milk. I also sauteed half a red pepper and half a green pepper (dice small) with the diced onion (but left out the mushrooms because I don't care for them). I used Crystal Farms O'Brien Hash Browns (in the refrigerator section, not frozen). I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. I mixed the salt, garlic powder and black pepper with the hash browns, then placed in the greased dish, and layered as the recipe states. I baked it for one hour, but next time I will check it sooner (it was a little brown around the edges). Another thing I really liked is I was able to cook the bacon, and sauteed the onion and peppers two days before (kept it cold) and then put it all together on Christmas (didn't have time x-mass eve). This recipe does have a lot of flavor, and was hardy meal my family and I enjoyed on Christmas morning. I'm sure I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This was delicious and so easy. It only took 45 minutes in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I think I would have really liked this recipe but the butter burned on the bottom. I was leary of using butter but I did it anyway and the whole casserole tasted burned. Luckily, it was just my Mom and me and her taste buds aren't that good anymore. I will try it again and will use Crisco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Delicious!! I made some strata from this site at Thanksgiving. This recipe was preferred by every member of my family! We don't like spicy food, especially for breakfast, and since the potatoes I used were already somewhat spiced I sprinkled onion powder on the hash browns and omitted the onion. Added a box of Jones precooked breakfast sausage chopped with the bacon. Took other suggestions and used 8 extra large eggs, but just 1 cup of milk. I put 1/4 cup of the cheese in with the eggs, and put the rest on top 20 minutes before taking the dish out of the oven. It wasn't too wet, or too dry- what we call a "goldilocks" meal. Served with fruit salad and a sour cream coffee cake. Yum! I didn't get a chance to put this in the frig the night before, so cooking time was about 40 minutes. Wow, wow, wow- this is one my husband said to put in my recipe file- high praise, indeed! Even my picky teenage daughters loved it. Thanks so much for posting this delightful, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasant Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I also added green pepper. This is a family staple for the cabin and holidays. Make the night before to get the green pepper taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheena
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This is a super easy, make ahead breakfast! I make it Christmas Eve every year and pop it in the oven just before gift opening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States