Christmas Brunch Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I used sausage instead of bacon and 6 eggs instead of 4. Still, at 400 degrees for an hour, the cheese on top was completely burned and the bottom was pretty much the same. What was left in the middle was okay. I should have checked it during the hour, but I put it in to bake while we opened Christmas presents. Very disappointed. I'll try again with a lower temp and/or less time, maybe mix it up as some suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I think this was a very delicious casserole, and very easy. I only changed it just a bit after reading reviews and to suit our tastes. I used 8 eggs and about a cup more hashbrowns because I love potatoes. I used 9 slices of bacon. I omitted the onions because no one in my house (except me) enjoys them, and also did not use mushrooms because I had none on hand. However, I do think it would make a nice addition. I had a red bell pepper so I diced half of it up and added it raw where you would add the sauteed mushrooms and onion. I made this on Christmas morning instead of overnight, so I baked at 350 for 45 minutes and added the cheese the last 15 minute so that it was more melty instead of a crust on top. I think this is a great recipe and you can customize it to your liking, much like an omelet. It also warms up nicely for leftovers, a big plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Wonderful, perfect for Christmas morning! I added more eggs & more cheese. Will make again for New Years too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carpar1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Made some adjustments to original recipe. Used eight eggs, mixed everything together, added only the garlic salt and omitted regular salt, thawed hash browns in micro and removed excess moisture. Also I used a mix of cheddar cheese and mozzarella and added french fried onions last five minutes only. This was perfect in appearance and everyone liked it. I also used two generous cups of milk. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I found this recipe a few years ago, and have had it in my AllRecipes recipe box ever since... the absolute BEST breakfast casserole-type dish I've ever had. Savory and yummy without being greasy or bready. Using the hash browns instead of bread is genious! The only changes I've ever made is to add some fresh garlic when I saute the mushrooms, and to add a little cayenne to the egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Used all the recipe ingredients (added extra eggs), just put them in the pan differently. I layered the hash browns on the bottom of the pan,mixed the remaining ingredients together & poured it over the hash browns. I didn't refridgerate it but baked it right away. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I just tried this recipe and loved it! My guests also went back for seconds so I guess they enjoyed it also. Very easy to make. I did tweek a few things. I mixed all ingredients in a bowl. Left out the mushrooms and substitued red bells peppers (cooked with the onions). I used 8 eggs (think I could have used a few more) and since I didn't leave it in the refrigerator over night I cooked it a 350' for 40 min. Will definitely use it again! Thank you for the recipe! Cindy C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I liked it, but my husband did not. He said you could not taste the eggs enough, and this was after adding an additional 2 eggs. But it was not BAD by any means.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Everyone loved it! Great recipe. Was out of mushrooms, but that was the only change. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This casserole is not just for Christmas. It gets raves every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States