Christmas Brunch Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This was amazing! I substituted one box (can) of Cream of mushroom soup in place of the eggs, as I cannot have them, and added green pepper to the mushroom/onion sauté. This was a HUGE hit for Christmas morning!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This is a great "starting point" for this casserole. I made a few simple changes and it turned out perfectly. I used the already cooked bacon and just heated it in the microwave to make it crispy. I used a can of sliced mushrooms and chopped them up a bit. I used 7 eggs instead of 4 and I used more cheese than the original recipe called for. Also, I added about a cup of ham I diced, from the previous nights leftovers. Rather than layering the ingredients, I put the potatoes in a greased dish, mixed everything else together (with a dash of nutmeg) and poured it over the potatoes. I added more cheese on top and baked it until set and browned at 375. Delicious! Everyone from my 1 year old daughter to my forty something husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
It was okay. I think it would be better with sausage. It was a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Tried this breakfast casserole for Christmas brunch, everyone really enjoyed it! Was so easy to prepare the night before and delicious! I added 2 extra eggs, as I was feeding 7 people. Yum! definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lins444

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This went well Christmas morning. Happy to have prepared the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
took the suggestions of others and did the following. I used tator tots on the bottom, then topped with cheese. mixed all other ingredients together and then poured over cheese & tots. turned out very yummy, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
We enjoyed the flavor of this, but there were just too many potatoes for us. Next time I would decrease the potatoes by 1/2 and double the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsay
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vicki515
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I made this for Christmas morning, after putting it all together, and refrigerating it the night before. I followed the recipe, with the exception of adding three additional eggs. It just didn't look as eggy as I wanted it. I was glad I had read the reviews, and saw that so many people had done that with good results. This was done in one hour. It was very good. I put some hot sauce on mine, but family liked it as it was, with additional salt and pepper. A great way to feed a hungry bunch in the morning, with no fuss, no mess. Will do this and variations of this quite often. Will be great with leftover ham, hot sausage, leftover taco meat...endless possibilities with veggies too! The hash browns I used were the cubed ones with bell peppers and onions, and I still used the fresh onions in the recipe. Will have fun with this recipe for years to come! Thanks for posting, and thank you to all the people who took the time to give reviews. They are very helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This was very good. I used turkey bacon and 8 eggs , which seemed just right. I only used one onion, two just seemed like way too much. After buttering the dish, I spread the potatoes on the bottom and baked them until they were slightly crisp. I then added the rest of the ingredients and stirred it all together, as opposed to layering them. It was pretty much perfect, everyone loved it. Thanks for the recipe, pamjlee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This is the second year I've made this for Christmas. It was a hit both years (with all ages...even my picky 3 year old daughter). While this did NOT change my rating (this recipe is good, we just found this year with my changes they work better for our family), we added spring onions to add color (and my oldest loves them) I also used 6 eggs. I put the cheese on the last 15 min of cooking. That way the cheese was nice and bubbly rather than too crusty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States