Christmas Brunch Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I used sausage instead of bacon (hubby's preference) & added chorizo & bell peppers. I used 5c hash browns, 3c shredded cheddar & 8 eggs & seasoned all with salt & pepper. I baked 50 minutes covered and another 20 uncovered. I ended up smothering each serving with New Mexico hot red chile & hubby said he wouldn't have liked it without the chile because it wouldn't have had enough flavor as written. Great concept. I'll have to play around with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I'm really surprised at all the high reviews on this recipe. There are much better breakfast casserole recipes out there. I agree with other reviewers, though, that this recipe needs more flavor and eggs. If I ever make it again I will double the eggs, add more seasoning (I did use tabasco sauce as another reviewer stated, but it still needs more flavor) and mix the ingredients together better before cooking. Otherwise, if you follow the directions, the bacon and eggs don't really mix in with the hash browns enough to give them flavor and the bottom portion of the casserole tastes really bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
yummylicious-my bff made it for brunch this weekend and I am in love with it! Eggs were perfect with the bacon and the cheese! kat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This recipe was SO great! I tried it for the first time last Christmas, it was such a hit that I'm making it again for our Mother's Day brunch... but this time I'm making two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Delicious! The only problem was that I didn't make enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Super Yummy! I made it for a brunch gathering today. The only changes I made were: used chicken apple sausage in place of bacon, diced potatoes instead of hashbrowns and added 1/2 tsp dry mustard - as someone else suggested. Everyone loved it and was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This was excellent with a few changes. I added some chopped green pepper and minced garlic to the saute mixture. Increased the eggs to 6, plus added some dry mustard and used sharp cheddar. I have a similar recipe that calls for the casserole to cook at 325 degrees for 1 1/2 hours. This seeemed to work well so the top didn't get too brown and it was done to perfection all the way through. By the way, your house will smell AMAZING while this is cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
tasty and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Markdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I had my family over for Christmas Brunch, my grandmother says she hates egg casseroles, but she tried this one. She loved it!! My only suggestion would be to season the potatoes before putting them in!! Salt, pepper, and a bit of garlic was nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa29forever

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I used this recipe as a basis and made a few changes to suit our tastes and based on other reviews. I added red bell pepper just for a bit of color, used 8 eggs, substitued fat-free half & half for the milk and tried pepper jack cheese for a bit of zip. My son and our guest said it was awesome. I highly recommend using this recipe as a starting point and have fun making changes to suit your own tastes and preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States