Christmas Brunch Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Mine cooked in about 45 minutes. Great to take to a brunch. It's hard to mess up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I didn't have hash browns so I substituted mashed potatoes. I didn't have eggs so I used flax seed meal soaked in warm water. I didn't have ham so I used tofu. I didn't have cheese so I subbed hummus. I was out of salt and pepper but I used teriyaki sauce. My oven was broken so I tried to heat it up in my toaster. It turned out mushy and bland and caused a small kitchen fire when my toaster shorted out. I definitely won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dusti McLain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Excellent I loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
As often happens on allrecipes, the reviews have evolved the original recipe to something almost in recognizable from the original. If you make the recipe exactly as outlined above, you will have a bland pan of soupy veggies seasoned with some meat. There is too much milk, not enough eggs, and WAY too little seasoning. Following others' advice I increased the eggs (to 8), then added a tablespoon each of onion powder, garlic powder, a teaspoon of cayenne, and a whole chopped bell pepper. I also reduced the milk to 1 cup and doubled the cheese to 2 cups. Then as others did I layered veggies, half the cheese, then the egg mixture, removing from the oven about 20 minutes before it was done and adding the remaining cheese to the top. The thing is, what I ended up with was tasty but almost nothing like the original! It's a good recipe to tinker with, so I gave it 3 stars, but on its own it rates 1 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I used diced ham from grocery store, added garlic powder, franks hot sauce, and an extra egg and a little extra milk. I was out of cheddar and used monterey jack which was totally good still....overall great recipe, you can always put your own twist on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Truly is a wonderful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lhhall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Well received by family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Good. suggest adding cheese in the hashbrowns and sprinkling with more cheese when out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This was amazing! I substituted one box (can) of Cream of mushroom soup in place of the eggs, as I cannot have them, and added green pepper to the mushroom/onion sauté. This was a HUGE hit for Christmas morning!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This is a great "starting point" for this casserole. I made a few simple changes and it turned out perfectly. I used the already cooked bacon and just heated it in the microwave to make it crispy. I used a can of sliced mushrooms and chopped them up a bit. I used 7 eggs instead of 4 and I used more cheese than the original recipe called for. Also, I added about a cup of ham I diced, from the previous nights leftovers. Rather than layering the ingredients, I put the potatoes in a greased dish, mixed everything else together (with a dash of nutmeg) and poured it over the potatoes. I added more cheese on top and baked it until set and browned at 375. Delicious! Everyone from my 1 year old daughter to my forty something husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States