Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I just made this recipe and was not impressed. Smelled amazing but did not have much flavor. I made exactly as directed. The center was moist but the edges and bottom were pretty tough. That is a pretty long cook time too for all that it is. I just figured if ya have to change a recipe that much to make it how ya like it, you might as well try another one or just make your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I loved this recipe! I didn't use dry mustard because it tends to have an ashtray aftertaste but I used a little regular mustard,one extra egg and I crumbled three pieces of Bacon on top to make it even more "heart attack " good...sooo awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Great! What I liked best about this recipe was that the casserole baked up thinner than most breakfast casserole recipes. In my opinion, that made this casserole superior in that the whole thing cooked up evenly and remained moist and tender. I think adding more eggs to this recipe would destroy the whole thing that makes it so great. It has been my experience that big, thick breakfast casseroles do not cook up evenly and half of the casserole is dried out and overdone while you bake it to death to cook the center! My go to now and I've tried a lot of these recipes. Only thing I did different was use fresh Italian sausage and it added nice spice and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I read a lot of the other reviews and got paranoid that this thing would be flat and flavorless, so I did add 2 extra eggs and some grated fresh onion. My changes were delicious but I bet the original recipe is great if you really follow it. The ground mustard is key to de-bland-ifying it, and toasting the bread is imperative for avoiding a gross mush-fest. Also be sure to use pork SAUSAGE, which is spiced, as opposed to plain ground pork -- or add your own spices if you're using plain pork. My only caveat is I'd say make this one even further ahead than the recommendation, since it takes 90 minutes to bake (which is about 75 minutes longer than I like to wait for my breakfast on Christmas or any morning). Anyway, thumbs way up. Delicious, hearty, filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I used the maple sausage and we did not like it. I may try it again with regular sausage, but don't know yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This was delish! I used hot sausage, added a couple more eggs, some aged sharp cheddar and green onion. Super easy, I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I've made this using this recipe several times. Great as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I used hashbrowns in the bottom instead of toast and it's awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
We took the crouton advise and had it on Xmas morning. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This recipe I have had for several years, but not as conveniently located.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,041) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Make-Ahead Breakfast Casserole

Go easy on yourself with this make-ahead breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States