Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Good Grief, is this ever delicious! I made it mostly for my BF because he is a bigger breakfast eater than I, but I think I loved it even more than he did. I did make some minor changes, mostly because when I went to make it I realized some of my ingredients had "vanished" (men are really good for that- raiding the fridge and not caring if items were meant for a recipe!). I was almost out of milk, so I used one cup milk and one cup heavy cream. I didn't have quite the full amount of cheddar, so I ripped up a few slices of American cheese to make up for it. Following some of the reviews, I upped the eggs to 6 and I also replaced the bread with garlic and cheese croutons. Finally, I opted for Jimmy Dean's spicy sausage, because we like a little kick. This is really fabulous- easily one of my favorite recipes on this site. It also reheats beautifully, and I am sure it freezes well too, if it actually lasts long enough to get there! Thanks so much for this awesome recipe! I will be making it often :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I made this for Christmas brunch this year, doubled the sausage and used 10 eggs doubling everything else as well. I also used whole slices of crustless bread and layered the bottom of the casserole with these first as suggested by other reviewers. Then after cooking a chopped onion with the sausage, I layered this next and then added the egg mixture. Finished it off topped with the cheese. Set overnight and followed instructions for baking exactly on Christmas morning. I was afraid of what this was going to turn out like since I hadn't made it before and I had company for brunch but to my great pleasure and surprise, it was fantastic!!! Not going to wait for Christmas to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I thought it was a little bit greasy with the cheese and the sausage but it tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Served this for Christmas brunch, and it was wonderful. The casserole was 5 stars, but I am giving the recipe as written 4 because I took several suggestions from other reviewers (used croutons instead of bread and used 8 eggs). This will be a new Christmas tradition. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Plains, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erika
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I really liked this recipe! I was surprised at how much it makes. I used a disposable, square Reynolds non-stick baking pan. My changes were made after reading so many reviews: I used Texas Cheese & Garlic croutons. The only problem was that I didn't know how many croutons equated to a slice of bread. So I used a whole 5 oz. bag of croutons. I also didn't layer the bottom of the pan with the "bread" as others suggested; instead I mixed it all up together. Which resulted in soft, yummy croutons throughout the casserole. If you don't like bread, you could put it all at the bottom, then maybe not slice as deep. I don't like lots of bread so I picked off the croutons that were on top. It was VERY moist; however, I baked it uncovered for 45 minutes, checked it, then put it back in for 7 minutes. I can't imagine leaving it in for those additional 30 minutes that the recipe calls for. Mine is perfectly moist...not slurpy...not dry. I will make this again when my kids have their next sleepover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I made this recipe using the suggestions of other reviewers. I increased eggs to 6, and decreased milk to 1-1/2 cups. Other than that, I follwed recipe instructions. My family was just so-so on this. It seemed very "bready" even with the extra eggs. It was OK for Christmas morning, but I am still looking for the perfect Christmas morning casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I added 5 more eggs and extra milk, because my pan is 10x13". I also added spinach, mushrooms, and onions. It was really good as a New Year's Day breakfast .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Braithwaite

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This was so good! I only had 4 slices of bread but I wanted to make it anyways so I just used 1 cup of milk instead of 2. If I had just made scrambled egg with cheese, sausage and toast on the side it wouldn't have been nearly as satisfying and my kids wouldn't have eaten that way either but my kids lived this casserole and asked for seconds. If I didn't have a picky husband and picky kids I would add red bell pepper and yellow onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Delicious recipe, but if you want to make it even better, substitute the white bread for cubed Texas Toast. Yum! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
As other reviewer's have stated. Amazing recipe! I followed some hints offered by others......Thanks! Doubled the Mustard, used six eggs....used a 7x10 pan...fits perfectly Nice thing about this recipe is you can alter as you see fit! I used 2 slices white bread, 2 slices wheat bread and through in some seasoned croutons. Also altered milk to 1 cup plus thru in half a cup of whipping cream, (all I had lol). I'm going to do all seasoned croutons next time One of the best, quickest heartiest recipes on this site! Thanks Much for the recipe all the hints from reviewers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States