Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Erika
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I really liked this recipe! I was surprised at how much it makes. I used a disposable, square Reynolds non-stick baking pan. My changes were made after reading so many reviews: I used Texas Cheese & Garlic croutons. The only problem was that I didn't know how many croutons equated to a slice of bread. So I used a whole 5 oz. bag of croutons. I also didn't layer the bottom of the pan with the "bread" as others suggested; instead I mixed it all up together. Which resulted in soft, yummy croutons throughout the casserole. If you don't like bread, you could put it all at the bottom, then maybe not slice as deep. I don't like lots of bread so I picked off the croutons that were on top. It was VERY moist; however, I baked it uncovered for 45 minutes, checked it, then put it back in for 7 minutes. I can't imagine leaving it in for those additional 30 minutes that the recipe calls for. Mine is perfectly moist...not slurpy...not dry. I will make this again when my kids have their next sleepover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I made this recipe using the suggestions of other reviewers. I increased eggs to 6, and decreased milk to 1-1/2 cups. Other than that, I follwed recipe instructions. My family was just so-so on this. It seemed very "bready" even with the extra eggs. It was OK for Christmas morning, but I am still looking for the perfect Christmas morning casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I added 5 more eggs and extra milk, because my pan is 10x13". I also added spinach, mushrooms, and onions. It was really good as a New Year's Day breakfast .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Braithwaite

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This was so good! I only had 4 slices of bread but I wanted to make it anyways so I just used 1 cup of milk instead of 2. If I had just made scrambled egg with cheese, sausage and toast on the side it wouldn't have been nearly as satisfying and my kids wouldn't have eaten that way either but my kids lived this casserole and asked for seconds. If I didn't have a picky husband and picky kids I would add red bell pepper and yellow onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Delicious recipe, but if you want to make it even better, substitute the white bread for cubed Texas Toast. Yum! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
As other reviewer's have stated. Amazing recipe! I followed some hints offered by others......Thanks! Doubled the Mustard, used six eggs....used a 7x10 pan...fits perfectly Nice thing about this recipe is you can alter as you see fit! I used 2 slices white bread, 2 slices wheat bread and through in some seasoned croutons. Also altered milk to 1 cup plus thru in half a cup of whipping cream, (all I had lol). I'm going to do all seasoned croutons next time One of the best, quickest heartiest recipes on this site! Thanks Much for the recipe all the hints from reviewers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
All the reviews raved about this recipe...this was my first complete failure with Allrecipes. We did not care for this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SheDon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I doubled the eggs and some Emerill's Essence because we like things with a little kick, but other than that - this is PERFECT! My family was skeptical at first, but it was gone in minutes! I have made this for the past 3 Christmas'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stan Miles
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
First go at, had to half the recipe. Guess we'll see what happens
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stan Miles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Use maple flavored sausage links
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States