Christmas Bark Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
SUPER easy and you can use crushed peppermint candy, choc. covered peanuts, almonds or raisins, pretzel pieces or mix and match. The oil is a better addition than shortening, doesn't dull the product so much and is not as fatty. Great fun for the kids too as it is made in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
If you plan on making this recipe, I do not recommend Ghiradelli chips. I just attempted to use them and ended up with a grainy unmelted mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
Very good, I added chopped pretzels sticks too. Next time I will press the M&Ms into the chocolate at the end. Some of the coating started to melt and swirl in the white chocolate. A neat effect IF that is what you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
Very good, but be careful melting the white chocolate chips - they burn/scortch VERY easily (this makes a grainy, clumpy mess that you can't salvage) - I don't rec. melting them on high heat. I microwave for 30 seconds at a time; stir; heat again, etc. Also, it helps a lot to cool the melted candy several minutes before adding the mini M&M's. That way the colors don't "bleed" into the white chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
A perfect recipe!! I added broken up pretzels for a different taste! Everyone loved this! Will use MANY more times! Next time I will try candy canes and dried cranberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Instead of using chips, I recommend using 10 oz. of good quality white chocolate. Coarsely chop it before melting it (either in double boiler or at 70% power in microwave.) This candy is addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Paoli, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Delicious and easy to make. I used some peppermint candy canes and the kids crushed them up and we mixed it in! yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I used the candy canes crushed and white chocolate (1 lb chopped and melted in dbl boiler) and added a 1/2 to 1 tsp peppermint flavoring. Addicting is right! It's on my list for every Christmas from now on :-) I'll try the cranberries or raisins next time too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Graham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montague, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Best recipe. Easy and gets so many compliments. Be careful about doubling. The chocolate is harder to melt. Do each back individually. Will stick and hard to get smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
We added crushed candy cane pieces, kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Candy Corn Cupcakes

Make these super simple and cute candy corn cupcakes for Halloween!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States