Christine's Meat Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
My family absolutely loves this recipe! As a person who grew up hating my mother's dried out, bland meatloaf, I was hesitant to try a meatloaf recipe. I decided to give this one a shot and I am so glad I did. This has become one of my favorites! I make the meatloaf according to the recipe, only adding another 1/2 cup or so of bread crumbs. The turkey I think helps keep the meatloaf moist. The Italian sausage adds a nice spice and the BBQ adds a smoky taste. Love love love! Give this one a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
My boyfriend and I made this last night. Instead of using the different meats, we just used all ground turkey. We also substituted the seasoned salt with Lipton Onion Soup Mix. It came out great, but I think I should have added more bread crumbs so it would have stuck together a little more. I put it with garlic mashed potatoes and vegetables. It tastes much better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Excellent. Because I misread the recipe, I used beef broth and not whatever the cambell's veggies soup is and all barbecue sauce (no ketchup). Next time I'll try to make it according to the recipe but my "accidents" tasted good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMHEYBOER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This was the best meat loaf! My adjustments were as follows: I used a bit more than 1 1/2 lbs of ground beef, no turkey or sausage. I used canned tomato soup instead of the vegetable beef. I had no kitchen bouquet on hand. And I used corn bread crumbs. I really think this is one of those easy-to-adjust recipes depending on what you have on hand. It was very moist and full of flavor, which surprised me considering I didn't have sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silvisgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Wow, what a great recipe! I made the meat mixture exactly as written, except added a little more bread crumbs. I did make it a bit differently though, only because my husband LOVES bacon! I took 8 slices of bacon and put them width-wise on a baking rack. Then I took 1/2 of the meat mixture, shaped it into a loaf and put it on top of the bacon. Next I took 3/4 C shredded cheddar cheese, sprinkled it over the meat and then took the remaining meat and put it over the top. Crimp the edges so the cheese stays in, and then wrap the bacon over the top of the loaf. Set the rack in a shallow pan and WOW! It did take quite a bit longer than 75 minutes though, almost 2 hours, but it was well worth the wait:) Had a side of orzo pilaf and we were good to go. Thanks for a wonderful meatloaf recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hancock, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I made this recipe EXACTLY according to recipe only subbing an additional pound of sausage in place of the ground turkey and running the soup through the blender to make the soup smooth. I did have to add additional breadcrumbs to thicken up the mixture. Even with a half cup of additional breadcrumbs, the meat loaf mixture was REALLY wet. The amount of liquids seemed to be quite excessive for meat loaf, in my opinion. I had my doubts this would hold together at all but after almost two hours of cooking, it did mostly hold together though it was very crumbly. The flavor was good but the texture was not something my family cared for. Slam me if you must for veering off from what the recipe called for meat wise but I think had I used the meat called for, it still would have been too wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
it had good flavor, but didn't hold together like "normal" meat loaf. it could be though because i didn't make it exactly like the recipe called for. I was out of turkey burger so used chorizo, but other then that it was pretty much the same. Oh and I baked mine in a cast iron skillet/dutch oven. It made for a great salad or sloppy joe topping though and would probably make it again just because it does have great taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Wonderful. I doubled the recipe and baked it in a 12" cast iron skillet. I was worried about the top wing black but it was really tasty crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petersburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This recipe is amazing! As stated in other reviews, not your average meatloaf, but coming from someone who isn't much of a meatloaf lover that's OK by me. Mine wasn't much of a "loaf" - it fell apart easily when cutting, but hopefully adding more bread crumbs next time will help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I made this recipe according to the directions with the exception of needing to add more of the Progresso Italian bread crumbs (almost half a cup more). I probably added more yellow mustard, too--like a big squirt. The next time I make this I'll puree the vegetable soup because I didn't like seeing the little chunks of veggies in the meat (I know, I'm just so picky!). This will make great sandwiches for our lunch today. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States