Christie B's Fabulous Cherry Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2000
Very easy, very tasty. Great way to use up some cherries from the tree. My husband says these taste like chocolate chip cookies minus the chocolate. Dough keeps well in the fridge so you can make a warm batch when you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2001
This was a good way to use up my cherries. They all got eaten in one day and they were very good and soft!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
these were delicious and easy once i did a little tinkering. the dough is very straightforward and could easily be used for chocolate chips or any other type of morsel you want to use. you could even substitute brown sugar for 1/2 the white sugar if you wanted and they come out well. i used fresh, sweet cherries, and i found that after grinding them in the food processor i needed to put them in a strainer and let the juice drain for about 15 minutes before adding them to the dough- otherwise it was just way too wet and the cookies came out mushy and turned blue. also, i found that the bake time was more like 18-20 minutes before they were a nice golden brown- crunchy around the edges and chewy in the middle- but that may just be my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
THIS JUST DIDNT WORK FOR ME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjusticesmith
Living In: Middletown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
i thought these cookies were ok, but really lacked cherry flavor. they really just tasted like sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Although these cookies were tasty and a great way to use up my cherries, the flavor was less cherry and more sugar. I didn't completely grind the cherries, just pounded them a bit and then let them drain as other reviewers suggested. The chunks of cherries were delicious. Next time I will try to keep the cherries more intact for bursts of cherry flavor. Despite the lack of cherry flavor, they were soft and delicious. I actually think they're tastier the second day instead of straight from the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Hmm. Well I followed the recipe and they were just plain boring. No real cherry taste, more like a little gray sweet biscuit. Tried adding dark chocolate chips and it was still ok, tried adding m&m's, again just ok. Kids weren't interested so all the work for nada. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
These cookies are yummy and very easy to make! This recipe is a great way to use up cherries. Just make sure to rinse the cherries well, or your batter will turn blue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kira Davidson

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
There seems to be some confusion by the author as to the fruit actually being used in this recipe. Unlike tree-born cherries, 'Ground Cherries', which are produced on bushes and are contained within husks, do not have pits. Otherwise, it appears there is a mistake in the ingrdient description. It's confusing at this point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States