Christian's Crazy Sherpa Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
My husband and I were pleasantly surprised with how this dish tasted and how easy it was to prepare I tripled the recipe (except for butter, only upped to 3 tablespoons total) to have enough for me and my husband because the recipe is only for one serving. We ended up having one serving left over so the serving size holds true. I cooked for 25 minutes b/c the potatoes were not soft enough at 15 min. I added extra garlic and used reduced fat cheddar and it was yummy!!! Adding this one to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I followed the recipe very closely although I didn't have any carrots on hand so I added string beans. I felt it needed seasoning quite a bit. I added curry powder, cumin and black mustard seeds as well as salt. I ended up liking it quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darcie
Home Town: Stillwater, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
too much butter. very good when cut down
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This would be 5 stars with a few changes. I used only 1 tablespoon butter and added onion to the garlic/green bell pepper at the start. I followed another review that staggered the veggies so that they were all properly cooked (I used broccoli, carrots and potatoes since that's what I had on hand). I added a little water during the cooking process rather than adding more butter (I just drained the veggies in a colander at the end). I also omitted the shredded cheese and instead topped the veggies with the juice of half a lemon, salt, pepper and cayenne. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I used this as a base for a healthy side dish to our salmon dinner tonight. I used two red potatoes, margarine, 4 garlic cloves, a red bell pepper, about 8 baby carrots, and some broccoli. I seasoned it with oregano, salt, pepper, and one juiced lemon. I left out the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I added salt while cooking and cucumber instead of zucchini as that is what I had. Added the cucumber in the end with the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Wah wah. /sad trombone sound./ At first glance, this recipe appeared to be something that I'd have thrown together in college, til I realized that I never would've had this many fresh vegetables on hand back then. Maybe I should've taken that as a sign to use canned veggies (to save on $$$ as well as all the chopping time) b/c I felt like it was wasted on this bland side dish, which BTW, was part overdone mush, part nowhere-near-done pebbles, even after 30 min. I chopped everything to near uniform size, as well as added onion, and sadly, we had to nuke everything in the microwave to have it ready w/ dinner, which resulted in a buttery mess. I saved it to the best of my ability - w/ a heavy splash of Texas Pete. On the other hand, my 3-year old gobbled her's up. If only I'd followed my 1st recipe instinct and just made a baked potato and done some simple steamed veggies on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I'd actually give this about 3 1/2 stars. The end taste was good. However, I'd like to know the best kind of pan to make this in. My pan is stainless steel and I kept having to add more butter because it was drying up too fast and sticking to the bottom. The potatoes never did get brown, but I was surprised that they actually were the most tender part of it all. I didn't have peas, zucchini, or bell pepper, and I used minced garlic instead of chopped. But I added some baby spinach and garlic salt. My husband said it was a keeper so I'll be making it (or variations of it) again. Probably just in a different pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
delicious - I started onions/garlic/potatoes/carrots early, added garlic powder, threw in some beet greens for the last couple of minutes, and melted cheese on top. 2 servings made one vegetarian dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I make this all the time with whatever veggies I have that need to be used quickly. I love that you can use almost any vegetable combination & it turns out deliciously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEDIANNIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vail, Iowa, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States