Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
My Mother used this very dressing for cucumbers 65 years ago! I like a little white pepper in mine but it is awesome on the tomatoes. So now I am going for some crumbled Feta, green onion, black olives and a splash of lemon juice for the fun of it! A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Wow, this was so sweet as written. I tasted it before I added nearly twice the vinegar and it was still too sweet.. My guy hated it and I didn't love it. It just didn't suit our personal tastes but I appreciate that you shared it. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Sorry to be the naysayer, but this was just okay - too one-note, mostly just sweet. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Delicious! Since everything was sliced thin, the tomatoes and onions took on the flavor in minutes! Only change was to add a little garlic powder. Perfect quick side dish. Especially if you have extra tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Have made this twice just as written and it is delicious. After reading through the reviews I am now anxious to try "playing with it" a little. I am going to try the olive oil and/or apple cider vinegar next time and see how it compares to the original. The crumbled blue cheese also sounds interesting. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Yum! I made with olive oil and no salt or pepper. The only thing I would change is to use a little less oil, maybe 1/4 cup instead of a half. A little fresh basil would be good too. It was fantastic as is, I just think it would work as well with less oil. We had with fried tenderloins and it was a perfect complement. I let marinade for about an hour. This one will be pinned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
My mother-in-law gave me a bunch of tomatos so I made this recipe. I think this is a 4* as written as I think it lacks in flavor. I will for sure make again but next time add some fresh basil. It just needs a little something more. In fact I just may add some basil to the left overs that I have in the fridge... OR maybe put on some italian bread and make bruschetta with it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I cut the sugar in half and the dressing was still WAY too sweet. I will try again, cutting it further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
This was pretty good. One has to take care to adjust proportions, of course, but very adaptable. It's a little sweet for my taste, but a hit with my bettter half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Made the recipe as written with some of our fresh heirloom tomatoes and one of the side choices for a cookout. I usually make tomato salad with a lot of garlic and this was a nice change. Everyone raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgbeck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States