Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
My Mother used this very dressing for cucumbers 65 years ago! I like a little white pepper in mine but it is awesome on the tomatoes. So now I am going for some crumbled Feta, green onion, black olives and a splash of lemon juice for the fun of it! A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Wow, this was so sweet as written. I tasted it before I added nearly twice the vinegar and it was still too sweet.. My guy hated it and I didn't love it. It just didn't suit our personal tastes but I appreciate that you shared it. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Sorry to be the naysayer, but this was just okay - too one-note, mostly just sweet. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Delicious! Since everything was sliced thin, the tomatoes and onions took on the flavor in minutes! Only change was to add a little garlic powder. Perfect quick side dish. Especially if you have extra tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Have made this twice just as written and it is delicious. After reading through the reviews I am now anxious to try "playing with it" a little. I am going to try the olive oil and/or apple cider vinegar next time and see how it compares to the original. The crumbled blue cheese also sounds interesting. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Yum! I made with olive oil and no salt or pepper. The only thing I would change is to use a little less oil, maybe 1/4 cup instead of a half. A little fresh basil would be good too. It was fantastic as is, I just think it would work as well with less oil. We had with fried tenderloins and it was a perfect complement. I let marinade for about an hour. This one will be pinned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
My mother-in-law gave me a bunch of tomatos so I made this recipe. I think this is a 4* as written as I think it lacks in flavor. I will for sure make again but next time add some fresh basil. It just needs a little something more. In fact I just may add some basil to the left overs that I have in the fridge... OR maybe put on some italian bread and make bruschetta with it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I cut the sugar in half and the dressing was still WAY too sweet. I will try again, cutting it further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
This was pretty good. One has to take care to adjust proportions, of course, but very adaptable. It's a little sweet for my taste, but a hit with my bettter half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Made the recipe as written with some of our fresh heirloom tomatoes and one of the side choices for a cookout. I usually make tomato salad with a lot of garlic and this was a nice change. Everyone raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgbeck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States