Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This recipe was good, but there was WAY too much of the "juice" for me. It was pretty sweet. It's good, and definitely a quick side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Very good. I took it to a family get together and everyone loved it. Celery is a good addition. Leftovers keep for several days and even get better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I love tomatoes and I love onions soi this recipe sparked my interest. I was surprised at how lightly sweet the recipe was. No single flavor overwhelmed the other. I make this on a regular basis now and the only thing I have changed is that I halved the the vinegar, sugar and oil. This has enough juice to coat the tomatoes and onion so we get all the flavor without added calories/fat. My husband, who does not like tomatoes standing out in a recipe, really enjoyed this recipe. My 16 year old, on the other hand loves tomatoes (like her mother) but HATES onions, unless their chopped tiny and cooked into the food. She may not have loved this recipe as much as I or her dad but she liked it and that is a huge ordeal for me. I was shocked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell-Shell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MATTSBELLY
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This was quite good. I did cut the sugar by about a quarter. Sweet but not too sweet. So simple and easy to make! Thanks for the recipe. Next time I will half the oil. A little too oily for us but still good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I'm not a huge tomato fan, but decided to try this recipe with some maters given to me from a friends' garden. It is yumm-o!! The sugar really makes it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Late2Class

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Excellent!! Used tomatoes from the garden and followed the recipe exactly. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
this was good, a very nice simple recipe for the abundance of tomatoes in our garden. Next time I will add some fresh oregano and more black pepper. I would recommend only using fresh garden tomatoes as i can see the recipe being compromised with lesser quality "winter grocery store" tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS. FISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gillett, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Delicious, simple flavours! I made some modifications as I wanted this to be a lower calorie/fat dressing: 1/2 c vinegar 5tsp sugar plus 2 packages of Stevia 3tbsp olive oil Turned out fantastic despite the changes! thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I have tried several tomato salads on this site and this one is the best yet. It has the right ratio of oil, vinegar and sugar. I used the full amount of tomatoes but did halve the dressing and it was more than enough to cover the roma tomatoes. I used vidalia onion and added chopped cucumber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
this is the best, my family has made this for years....add canned potaoes, cut up, and a jar of marinated artichoke hearts, and red onion chopped....its the best, with fresh italian bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States