Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
We really enjoyed this, with a slight modification to ingredients, and big modification to prep. First, I mixed the vinegar and sugar in a container a couple of days ahead. We've used just that for a simple leaf-lettuce dressing for as long as I can remember, and I knew it would take some time to dissolve the sugar into the vinegar, and this mix keeps forever. Then, based on the number of tomatoes I had (I used grape, cut in half), I put some of the vinegar/sugar in a bowl, whisked in a little bit of olive oil, salted and peppered and put the onions in, about 2 hours before we ate. Just before sitting down, I whisked the dressing up again, and stirred in the tomatoes. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I'm so glad I am rating this the day AFTER i made them. they really taste BETTER when the flavors sit overnight! I made it 100% as written, it was PERFECT! i enjoy the simple dressing, very nice flavor. Others complain it is too much dressing, just make the dressing seperate and use as much or as little as you need! I decided to add some cuke today, make sure you weep them before you add, or it will have too much water. Also tried with some herbed goat cheese, VERY VERY delish! The only reason i gave it 4 instead of 5 stars is because it didnt' taste that good last night, it was like soup tho - next day is WAY better. i will make this again for sure when summer tomatos are in abundance. thank you for the recipe chrissy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earth_girl
Home Town: Palmyra, New York, USA
Living In: Greece, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
My family really liked this recipe. I changed two things: I decreased both sugar and oil by a third. Next time I will add green peppers and cucumbers if I have them. I don't think it will change the taste and it will provide a way to use up some of those excess veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
YUMMER! I used apple cider vinegar and olive oil. It was Bangin' out of control!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I love to make this salad in the summer with fresh tomatoes, but I do not use sugar or oil due to family health issues. Country Tomatoes is what I learned the recipe to be and the tomatoes and onions were used in addition to green bell peppers cut into slices. The mix was made with equal portions of Apple Cider Vinegar, Sugar (or Splenda in my case), salt, pepper, and fresh basil and oregano to taste. It is such a light and refreshing addition to a seafood, beef or grilled chicken meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Loved it something a bit different. I heated the liquids just a bit to break down the sugar, I also used a sweeter onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winthrop, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Great with a bit of chopped fresh basil and shredded mozzerella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
So good! I couldn't stop snacking on it. I had almost ate 1/2 of it before the rest of dinner was done. I had done as others did, used olive oil. I also put a splash of balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille Sweeney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I'm rating this 4 stars even though mine was not. I did something I hardly ever do: I didn't follow it to the letter the first time I made it. Instead of using vegetable oil, I thought olive oil would be better. NOPE! My oil is highly-flavored and it overcame the taste of the tomatoes. I WILL make this again and I won't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I make this every summer when I have tomatoes in my garden. I don't use oil though, personal preference. I also add sliced cukes and either fresh basil or cilantro from my garden for some added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dklove69

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Smyrna Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States