Chris's Incredible Italian Turkey Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Super Good. Used Italian Bread Crumbs instead of Oatmeal & Lipton Onion Soup Mix instead of Onion since some family members are not fans of chunks of onions. This was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
Because I'm on Weight Watchers, I substituted fat-free egg substitute for the real eggs, soy milk for the cow's milk, and took pains to use the lowest calorie spaghetti sauce I could find (which turned out to be Classico's Fire-Roasted Tomato and Garlic) and the 93% fat-free ground turkey. It tasted *amazing*, especially when you remeber how bland turkey can be. Not so here! It never firmed enough up in the oven to slice cleanly without falling apart - it was a touch mushy, which means no leftover meatloaf sandwiches. I think leaving the milk out might help with that issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
My family Loved it! It was flavorful and moist. We also thought that the texture was just fine. Now, my apologies because I intended on staying close to the original recipe but due to circumstances some things were modified...I did use 1 and 1/2 tsp. of the Italian seasoning in the meat (after reading some of the other reviews) and 3 cloves of minced garlic. I used 1 pound pork sausage with the ground turkey, because that's what I had. The sauce for the top was modified because I don't buy sauce, but the sauce I made was simple and completely winged so anyone can do it in a pinch. And lastly I did double the hot sauce drops. The meatloaf was much larger then I was expecting and at 350 degrees it took around 2 hours to bake. If you're in need of the Simple sauce...I used 1-14oz can diced tomatoes, 1-6oz can tomato paste, 2 cloves minced garlic, 1/2 tsp oregano, 1/2 tsp. basil and 1/4 tsp thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
I always make meatloaf with ground turkey and ground pork, but my husband and I really enjoyed this version with the mild turkey sausage. I followed the instructions exactly and the result was YUMMY! I don't know how kids might like this recipe due to the spicy tomato based sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I just made this for dinner tonight. Yummy! I loved the way the oats bound everything together - and you couldn't even tell they were there once it was cooked. I also added a little shredded carrot to increase the veggie factor and add a little more color to the mix. As other reviewers said, I didn't have liquid smoke, so I used BBQ sauce for the topping - delish! It adds just the right amount of interest to the topping. Did I already say yummy? Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I loved this. Even as leftovers. Quick and easy to prepare. I tried with bread crumbs, but it was more mushy. The oats give it great texture and keep the perfect moisture. Don't put too much liquid smoke in the sauce, because it easily can become overbearing. It does add something unique to the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
I do not like meatloaf in general, but I loved this recipe! The turkey sausage really makes a difference. I was out of oats, so used 1 C. of italian bread crumbs instead, and it was just delicious. My picky kids and husband loved it as well, this will definitely become a staple in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
definitely yummers! easily halved the recipe -- just scale for 3 instead of 6. (btw, 2 italian sausages equal half a pound. i used jennie-o turkey italian links) beside that i followed the recipe exactly, well, except i didn't use any milk. oh, and i sauteed the onion & fresh garlic instead of using powder --the texture was perfect, the taste outstanding. my family loved it. i'm looking forward to a sammie for lunch! yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by matgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This very good and FILLING. The only modifications I made were for the fact that the ground turkey and turkey sausage come in 20oz packages from my grocery store. I increased it to 3 eggs and 2 cups of oats and a whole vidalia. I did put just a little spaghetti sause in the mixture... it was PERFECT. Makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I love this recipe. My husband doesn't eat red meat so I am constantly looking for new turkey recipes. I've tried to make a turkey meatloaf before, but it didn't turn out anything like this! I only put half the sauce on before cooking and leave the rest as a side to spoon on by anyone who wants more after it's cooked. I layered strips of roasted red and yellow peppers over the sauce before baking. Next time I want to make meatballs, this is the recipe I'll be using! For fun, I would add some freshly grated parmesan cheese for the meatballs. Thanks Chris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Incredibly Cheesy Turkey Meatloaf

This super simple meatloaf stars ground turkey and Colby cheese.

Turkey Veggie Meatloaf Cups

These adorably delicious mini-meatloaves are made in cupcake tins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States