Chris's Incredible Italian Turkey Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This would make great meatballs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justchrys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I love this recipe. My husband doesn't eat red meat so I am constantly looking for new turkey recipes. I've tried to make a turkey meatloaf before, but it didn't turn out anything like this! I only put half the sauce on before cooking and leave the rest as a side to spoon on by anyone who wants more after it's cooked. I layered strips of roasted red and yellow peppers over the sauce before baking. Next time I want to make meatballs, this is the recipe I'll be using! For fun, I would add some freshly grated parmesan cheese for the meatballs. Thanks Chris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Wonderful! Best turkey meatloaf we've tried. Tasted lke a giant meatball. I used homemade marinara with lots of basil and garlic. This is a keeper for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
It's the new fav around the house. I was secptical but it really is amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Confining this recipe to just meatloaf would be a shame. I'm going to be making meatballs and turkey burgers, for sure! For interests sake, I used fresh garlic instead of powder, also added sauteed mushrooms as well as a 1/4 cup of fresh chopped basil. (Just happened to have these ingredients in the fridge that needed using) This will be one of my go-to recipes from now on. Even my 17 month old son LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I've made this a couple times, and we LOVE IT. I used regular Italian sausage (not turkey), just because that's what I had. I also took other suggestions and used a package of onion soup mix instead of the onion. I didn't have oatmeal, so I just used regular bread crumbs (slices of white bread that were starting to go stale ground up in my mini-chopper). I also didn't have Italian seasoning, so I just sprinkled some parsely, basil and oregano in. I made HALF of the glaze - just using 1 small can of store-bought tomato sauce with the Worcestershire sauce...I put a few dashes of hot sauce in, but I didn't have liquid smoke, so I just put in some creole seasoning. It gave it such a nice flavor, and the glaze "baked on" since it was the lesser amount. One key thing that I did (that was a lesson learned from the first time) - instead of making 1 big meatloaf, I made 2 smaller loaves in the same pan. Then the baking time did take about an hour. Like some of the other commenters, I found that the baking time for a single loaf was far longer than these instructions say....but split in 2, it's about perfect. THIS RECIPE IS A KEEPER!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I don't usually do so well with things that require baking - and unfortunately this was no exception. I accidentally put in 2.5 total pounds of meat (I used ground turkey that was pre-seasoned with Italian flavors) and even with that huge mistake it was SO SO good. The sauce was key (I used 2 parts spaghetti sauce and 1 part BBQ b/c I didn't have smoke flavoring and I used Sriracha as my hot pepper sauce). I love that it uses oatmeal too! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
SO great! My husband & kids liked it so much last week that they asked me to make it again tonight. I used ground turkey breakfast sausage, and l left out the liquid smoke (didn't have any in-hand). Everything else was followed exactly. YUMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Great flavor - makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOTTAHESS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This was very good. I followed the recipe exactly as indicated--I like the idea of keeping it as healthy and unfattening as possible. I thought it was great. I may have added a little more of the indicated spices when I felt like it but I was going for keeping it the same as written and assessing the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Incredibly Cheesy Turkey Meatloaf

This super simple meatloaf stars ground turkey and Colby cheese.

Turkey Veggie Meatloaf Cups

These adorably delicious mini-meatloaves are made in cupcake tins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States