Chris' Grilled Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Good week night recipe when you are in the mood for something light and refreshing. My family is into very heavy seasoning and this is a great recipe to get them off of all that spice and salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MJCupcake
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This recipe is delicious! I read the reviews after making the marinade and panicked but I didn't find the chicken bland at all! I only used 2 cups of orange juice, brown sugar and maple syrup instead of honey, and added a pinch of salt to the marinade and used this to make a sauce. I boiled it for about 10 minutes then added cornflour and some honey which made it sweeter as it was quite bitter with the citrus fruits. I cooked the chicken in a pan and the flavour was delicious! I wanted an extra citrus kick, but the chicken was orangey enough without it too. I served it with roasted peppers, tomatoes, carrots, red onion and new potatoes which completed the dish perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Zest of citrus & some salt/pepper/cayenne helps. Serving this with some good orange marmalade (much like folks serve cranberry sauce with turkey) will also add a lot of flavor for those who limit salt. Unless chicken has a rich marinade (which this does not), I pull out some good preserves or marmalade - flavor based on the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I made this recipe last night. my (non-chicken loving) husband said it was fabulous! The best chicken he has ever eaten. It was moist, not as citrus-ie as I would have expected, but a tiny bit sweet. I did alter the marinade a bit, as per some of the reviews. Instead of 3-C OJ, I used 1-T Orange rind and a dash of orange flavoring, and added the following; 1-T lemon rind, a dash of hot sauce, 1/4-c red wine vinegar, 1/4-c grapeseed oil, and a tsp. salt. I marinated in a baggie, flipping after about 4 hours. As these were very large breasts, I cooked in a hot cast iron skillet on one side for about 10 min, covered for about 10 min on low, then removed lid and cooked on other side for about 10 min. till juices were absorbed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I just now read the recipe, and in response to some of the reviews, of course it is bland! There's no salt! Chicken needs salt. I make a similar recipe, with about 2 tsp of salt, plus finely chopped jalapeño and cilantro, in the marinade. The citrus juices and garlic are wonderful but don't forget some salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Three stars as written. Not bad but not great. Reading other reviews, I agree with some: Add the Zest as well as the juice of the fruit. Add some neutral flavored oil if you wish. Add some other seasonings if you wish (cayenne works well if you like a little heat but we liked the clean taste of the citrus so that's all we added, no onion, garlic, etc.) I used a 'needler' on the meat before marinating, which helps it pick up more moisture and flavor. They are inexpensive and available at most kitchen supply sources. Salt and pepper immediately before putting on the grill over a MEDIUM-LOW flame, JUST until done, don't let it get overdone. An instant read thermometer is another good investment, not just for this recipe but for cooking all meat. For the person who thought this was a ceviche -- NO, it's not. The citrus won't 'cook' your chicken as it does fish. For those who wanted a sauce or a basting liquid or both -- boil the marinade about 10 minutes or longer and use it for a sauce; boiling destroys any bacteria. Or make a double batch of the marinade and thicken it as another reviewer suggested with either arrowroot or cornstarch. If you want it as a sauce you DO need to add the butter; the wine is optional. With modifications this could be five star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I believe that all meats should be seasoned with salt and pepper first before proceeding with the recipe (unless there is a lot of salt already in the marinade). This citrus marinade had no seasoning in it! Of course it's going to taste bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
What about adding a mint/yogurt/lime sauce? Might just give it the added zip for those who want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
WONDERFUL!! I added more mint, garlic, red pepper & onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
A good twist for those of us bored with the same old chicken marinades. Made it as written and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chris' Grilled Orange Chicken

This citrus marinade makes chicken moist and tender on the grill.

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Grilled Lemon Chicken

A zesty marinade for grilled chicken breasts. Dinner’s ready in minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States