Chris' Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Add another first place chili cookoff win!! I followed this recipe exactly and just won first place in a chili cookoff!! Will definitely be making this again. My DH and son went wild for it. It is somewhat laborious with the steak (which gave me the full on attention of both dogs) but it is well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I just finished making this chili and holy cow its fabulous. I can't wait to taste it once its had a chance to sit in the fridge and all the flavors have had a chance meld together. I will definitely make this again and spice it up a little more. At first taste its not what I consider spicy, but there is a touch of heat at the end. I may update this once I've had a chance to taste the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Add a 2nd place trophy to the trophy rack, Chris! In stiff competition, this recipe hung in there for the red ribbon at USCG Training Center Yorktown's Annual Spring Fling Chili Cookoff. I made MINOR substitutions. I used one can of black beans and two of the kidney beans. I also added minced garlic and about 2 tsps. of paprika, and a whole chopped dried ancho chili. The judges said it was close...I think I lost out to a bean-free (Texas) chili! Good recipe...will make again (and maybe win next year!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Made this for my family. Meat came out really tender and it had a really good flavor. I used franks red hot instead of texas pete. The only thing I would suggest is adding a couple of Jalapeno peppers to it. I will definitly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
My two teen age boys ate almost all of it immediately. I fixed it in the evening so I could reheat it the next day but there wasn't much to reheat. Each added it to their favorite meals list which is a high compliment. I will absolutely make this again and possibly enter local chili contests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Wow, outstanding. Won 3rd place at a chili cook off. Added sriracha at the end because I wanted a little more heat. Also, make sure to brown meat in small batches or otherwise you'll be boiling it in its own juices. Thanks for the recipe, Chris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Just won first place with this recipe!! Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Made this for a football game and everybody loved it! Some said it was the best chili they've ever had! The meat isn't exactly cheap, but it is worth the price. Isn't very hard to make, just put the ingredients into a pot and stir it a little. Definitely refrigerate over night because the meat gets more tender and soaks up the flavor. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Made your chili recipe with a few additions, I didn't have the onion soup mix but added a chopped onion, chopped celery and 5 chopped up garlic cloves. Used ground beef and I added a jar of medium spiced salsa and used 2 cans of mexican spiced tomatoes. I didn't have to add the tomato paste and used a package of dried red beans prepared by the package. I added about 1/2 a cup of the cocoa. Really turned out great and we had it at our usual Thursday night hot dog roast and chili. Everyone raved about the recipe. Thank you Chris.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Balachanoff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Despite my inner cook urging me to add garlic, onions or peppers, I followed the directions. I chose this mild-mannered recipe since it would be eaten by toddlers thru adults. My first taste of this brought to mind the word 'smooth'. I set a shakers of chipotle and hot peppers on the side and offered condiments of cilantro, shredded cheddar, and chopped onions for those was wanted to jazz it up. It wasn't tomato-y or spicy, just easy to eat and well received. Great chili for those who don't like things other than meat and beans in their chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States