Chris' Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Overall a good chili recipe. What makes it stand out is simmering the steak in bacon grease and the cocoa powder. I am surprised though that it is so award winning. There are lots of top secret chili recipes out there that aire on the side of exotic. That said, there is such a conservative use of spices. And arguably so, more beans than some chili men would consider using (no draining of the beans is interesting). The recipe is worth a try for sure. It has some great things going for it-namely the fact you don't drain off the steak liquid. You lose a lot of good texture and flavor if you do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crabby Leg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I followed the recipe and everything turned out great. It has a nice blend of spices. The only problem is that it was gone in a day because everyone kept going back to get more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marm0t
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
You can add another 1st place trophy to the ever crowding case! This chili has amazing flavor. I did make some additions. 1 can on green chilies, 1 can of diced jalapenos, 2 cans of chili Rotel, 1 can of fire roasted tomatoes and 1/2 tsp on white pepper. And I substituted chili beans instead of kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garrison, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This is AMAZING. I am obsessed with Steak n' Shakes chili, and this hits the nail on the head. I literally cannot taste the difference. Thank you so much! My family loved it and I plan on making it regularly. I used Angus Ground chuck instead of steak, but next time I will try the steak to see if it's even better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I substituted venison chops for the beef (because I had too much of it in my freezer) and it tasted awesome. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oronoco, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Despite my inner cook urging me to add garlic, onions or peppers, I followed the directions. I chose this mild-mannered recipe since it would be eaten by toddlers thru adults. My first taste of this brought to mind the word 'smooth'. I set a shakers of chipotle and hot peppers on the side and offered condiments of cilantro, shredded cheddar, and chopped onions for those was wanted to jazz it up. It wasn't tomato-y or spicy, just easy to eat and well received. Great chili for those who don't like things other than meat and beans in their chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This was the best chili I have ever had. And that was using ground beef, instead of the steaks. I will definitely be using steak the next time to see if it can actually taste better. It is better as leftovers the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Wow. This is hands down the BEST chili I have ever had. Rich, hearty and complex flavors. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This was INCREDIBLE. Add another first place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Add another first place win! I did change a few things such as smoking the beef for around 30 minutes with hickory and added a red pepper and extra beans. I also added a small can of diced chiles and substituted diced tomatoes with jalapenos instead of the tomato sauce and I added an extra tsp of diced jalapenos and 1 tsp of jalapeno juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States