Chris' Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This recipe is best of show. I prepare 3 or 4 days in advance and set aside until the day I am ready to serve. I put the chili in a slow cooker the morning of and let it cook on low for 6-8 hours. I use the dry rubbed maple bacon (you can find at some Wholefoods butcher). I saute the bacon with the meat and then I grind it to a shredded consistency (I am not a big chunky meat eater). Outside of that, I made no alterations to the recipe. Huge hit in my family (kids ages 7, 5, and 2).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Donna Beachy
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Just awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Beachy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Great chili! I followed the recipe exactly and resisted the urge to add onions, peppers and chilies. Drives me crazy to read "reviews" by people who've made multiple changes to a recipe. This chili may not be what you're used to, but it's so worth trying. The flavor is so rich and smooth, I'll never use any other recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherie Madore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I like to start in the morning so it can sit for a few hours prior to serving. It thickens up that way. I also add chopped green bell peppers for a little something extra. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This was a good chili but I wouldn't make it again. I tried it because it said it would taste like Steak n' Shake's chili but it tasted nothing like that. I followed the recipe exactly and the odd ingredients were different and a little fun to try out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I entered this in a chili cook-off based on reviews and I got 2 votes. Dead last place out of 20 entries. I really liked this chili personally, but what do I know? I rarely eat chili because I do not eat ground beef. I made is EXACTLY as the recipe states, except I did add a few chopped jalapeños to the finished product, because after I took it out of the fridge the next morning and tasted it, it was very mild. I personally did not mind the cost of the steak, but it would have been much cheaper to make traditional chili. The broth is very gravy-like and hearty. I would make it again for my family but I would never subject myself to enter it in another cook off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Easily 5 star for me. The problem with chili is that people are so opinionated and/or polarized on what is chili and how it should taste and look that scores can be so subjective than other recipes. It even becomes a macho thing in some cases to be rigid on a chili concept. I found this Chili just what I was looking for in a chili. Similar to a Steak and Shake Chili but better. The steak was what made it texturally so different. The beans were so tender and the flavor was just right. I used Coke and Texas Pete's. I did not find the dry onion soup mix so I used Campbells french onion soup and strained out those disgusting onions. I made it to the recipe except the store was out of dry soup mix. I used 10 ounces of sauce instead of the 8. Changes I may try the next time would be to find the dry onion soup mix as listed, double the Texas Pete's or use Franks red hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Awesome chili!!! The only change I made was making my own onion soup mix because of food allergy issues. My 9 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Excellent recipe...I spiced it up a bit but adding the coke and cocoa really gave it a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Douglas10

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
2nd place winner!! Wonderful recipe, Chris. Added a bit of dark beer and some of the bacon used for grease. Will be cooking this as an annual tradition. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States