Chris' Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I like to start in the morning so it can sit for a few hours prior to serving. It thickens up that way. I also add chopped green bell peppers for a little something extra. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This was a good chili but I wouldn't make it again. I tried it because it said it would taste like Steak n' Shake's chili but it tasted nothing like that. I followed the recipe exactly and the odd ingredients were different and a little fun to try out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I entered this in a chili cook-off based on reviews and I got 2 votes. Dead last place out of 20 entries. I really liked this chili personally, but what do I know? I rarely eat chili because I do not eat ground beef. I made is EXACTLY as the recipe states, except I did add a few chopped jalapeños to the finished product, because after I took it out of the fridge the next morning and tasted it, it was very mild. I personally did not mind the cost of the steak, but it would have been much cheaper to make traditional chili. The broth is very gravy-like and hearty. I would make it again for my family but I would never subject myself to enter it in another cook off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Easily 5 star for me. The problem with chili is that people are so opinionated and/or polarized on what is chili and how it should taste and look that scores can be so subjective than other recipes. It even becomes a macho thing in some cases to be rigid on a chili concept. I found this Chili just what I was looking for in a chili. Similar to a Steak and Shake Chili but better. The steak was what made it texturally so different. The beans were so tender and the flavor was just right. I used Coke and Texas Pete's. I did not find the dry onion soup mix so I used Campbells french onion soup and strained out those disgusting onions. I made it to the recipe except the store was out of dry soup mix. I used 10 ounces of sauce instead of the 8. Changes I may try the next time would be to find the dry onion soup mix as listed, double the Texas Pete's or use Franks red hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Awesome chili!!! The only change I made was making my own onion soup mix because of food allergy issues. My 9 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Excellent recipe...I spiced it up a bit but adding the coke and cocoa really gave it a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Douglas10

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
2nd place winner!! Wonderful recipe, Chris. Added a bit of dark beer and some of the bacon used for grease. Will be cooking this as an annual tradition. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I made this a few days ago, and it really is great chili. I suppose I expected it to be a little better, but it is a good recipe. I was raised in a blue collar family with a lot of kids and not a lot of money. The best my Mom could get for our chili was your standard ground beef, and I had a lot of trouble getting over that this recipe calls for steak. Perhaps I'm just set in my ways regarding the ground chuck, but I feel like ground beef is more suitable for chili. It's also pretty darn pricey to use two different kinds of steak in this recipe. I also prefer more a variety of beans in my chili. I think I'll loosely follow this recipe in the future, but I'm going to go back to ground beef and use a wider variety of beans. All in all, if you have the money and prefer steak in your chili, this is an excellent recipe for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This recipe was very different so I followed it almost exactly...the only change was that after doing the browning of the meat stage (I made it quite brown) I cooked it in a crockpot on high for 5 hours (you probably could have gotten away with 4 but we were out). Using this method the meat did get very tender so I would say that's a good way to go if you want to use the slow cooker. The taste was very interesting and different, I would just say that we felt it was missing something...definitely some spice but maybe some acid too? I will probably add a teaspoon of adobo seasoning and maybe some Frank's red hot next time I make it. It was good on eggs leftover this morning too. I would say that it tastes better today than yesterday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Thumbs down. Wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States