Chris' Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I served this to friends and family on New Years Eve, it was a hit. Made a crockpot full and no left overs!!!!!! I added lean ground meat to the recipe and kept the carbs to a low by only using half the recommended beans. A great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I have been wanting a homemade chili recipe using chunks of steak rather than ground beef. This fit the bill perfectly! Even better, my very picky childern LOVED it. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Wow! I made pretty much as written except I didnt have a can of tomato sauce as I thought I did... So I used up some fresh tomatoes and used a little extra tomato paste. And I used Pepsi instead of Coke. I did half the recipe as it was only myself my 14 and 3 yo boys. But the picky 3 yo ate his whole bowl!!Thats an accomplishment! And my 14 yo gave it 5 stars. I was confused on the "yellow sport pepper sauce" Did that mean hot sauce?? I could NOT find yellow pepper hot sauce anywhere. SO I used the vinegar from a bottle of little hot yellow peppers. Anyway, given my changes I made out of necessity I dont think they affected the taste at all. But I will be making again and will make exactly the same maybe this time using the Texas Petes actual hot sauce although it is not yellow...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Oh my goodness, best chili I have ever made. I used half ground sirloin and half sirloin steak to save money. Made double batch for party and people would scraping the crock pot for every last drop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Pfeifle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Somehow with only a few ingred's this becomes a wonderful recipe and as I was making it I REALLY had my doubts watching it come together. I had to use the entire envelope of dry soup mix and used a diff. bean (steakhouse grillin beans)but it is really a tasty blend for a smooth, sweet, saucy chili. Thanks loads! It does not make very many servings though...maybe half of a 6 qt pot..enough to stretch to 3-4 ppl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Overall a good chili recipe. What makes it stand out is simmering the steak in bacon grease and the cocoa powder. I am surprised though that it is so award winning. There are lots of top secret chili recipes out there that aire on the side of exotic. That said, there is such a conservative use of spices. And arguably so, more beans than some chili men would consider using (no draining of the beans is interesting). The recipe is worth a try for sure. It has some great things going for it-namely the fact you don't drain off the steak liquid. You lose a lot of good texture and flavor if you do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crabby Leg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I followed the recipe and everything turned out great. It has a nice blend of spices. The only problem is that it was gone in a day because everyone kept going back to get more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marm0t
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
You can add another 1st place trophy to the ever crowding case! This chili has amazing flavor. I did make some additions. 1 can on green chilies, 1 can of diced jalapenos, 2 cans of chili Rotel, 1 can of fire roasted tomatoes and 1/2 tsp on white pepper. And I substituted chili beans instead of kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garrison, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This is AMAZING. I am obsessed with Steak n' Shakes chili, and this hits the nail on the head. I literally cannot taste the difference. Thank you so much! My family loved it and I plan on making it regularly. I used Angus Ground chuck instead of steak, but next time I will try the steak to see if it's even better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I substituted venison chops for the beef (because I had too much of it in my freezer) and it tasted awesome. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Thein

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oronoco, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States