Chow Mein with Chicken and Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Great recipe, easy to modify... Using what I had on hand substituted skinless thighs, and instead of marinating cooked in very light sesame oil with minced ginger and soy sauce, removed the bones as they cooked & added the cornstarch mixed with a little cold water and 1 Tbsp soy sauce plus a little garlic/onion powder after the broth/oyster sauce/sugar mix. Also used only 1 head bok choy, but upped to 1 whole small zucchini and added a little celery, 1/2 can water chestnuts and 1/2 can cut baby corn. Very flexible. As prepared, it was really flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I made this for dinner last night and it must have been very good because there was none left by the time I got around to eating! Everyone loved it. I added a little fresh, finely minced ginger with the garlic because we all love ginger. I used a 10 oz package of noodles as that is the size they came in. When making this don't over cook the noodles or you will end up with mush. 4 - 5 minutes is all they take. Have everything chopped and prepped as this comes together really fast and there is no time to stop and measure or chop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Changed it a little by replacing the zucchini with bean sprouts and didn't have oyster sauce on hand so just used broth. We used dry noodles instead of the cooked noodles. My husband loved it and he is very pick about his Chinese food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Excellent Stir fry best I have had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
The recipe did take a lot of prep work but the taste was as good as the lo mein noodles in a Chinese restaurant without the greasy taste. My children loved it and asked for seconds. I especially appreciated the additions of vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rmacmillans6

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
very good my daughter ate 4 plates!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
To all those who say this meal doesn't have very much flavor, I want to remind you that chow mien is a mild dish with subtle flavors. It is not a heavily spiced or spicy dish. I prepared this dish exactly as written being very careful with accuracy in measuring. I followed the preparation as written. The chicken was very flavorful and moist. I did salt it slightly after browning it in the pan. The veggies added the right amount of crunch and sweetness. The flavor was subtle but I thought it was very flavorful. I cooked the noodles 5 minutes, and after assembling all the ingredients together, I brought the broth to a boil, then turned off the burner and let the noodle mixture sit for about 5 minutes. This let them absorb most of the liquid, which made them just the right consistency and the sauce thicker. This is the best chow mein recipe I have ever tasted. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'gal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I just made this for dinner tonight and my husband called it "The best thing you've cooked in a long time." He polished off two bowls! It was a little bland, but we added more soy sauce and hot sauce at the table. I also added a generous amount of fresh grated ginger to the chicken / soy / cornstarch mixture. Will definitely be making this again! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I wish I could go to her restaurant...because this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Very good. I put more snap peas in and probably more carrot, but less bok choy and it was much more than 4 servings!! We definitely have dinner for tomorrow. Also, I used baked tofu for the chicken and "Not chicken" bouillon (for vegetarians)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States