Chow Mein with Chicken and Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This is amazingly flavorless in a way that defies physics, cooking and all reason. I dumped in an entire bottle of teriyaki sauce & a cup of peanuts to attempt to coax it back to life, but nothing could be done; our dinner had flatlined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I made this for dinner last night and it must have been very good because there was none left by the time I got around to eating! Everyone loved it. I added a little fresh, finely minced ginger with the garlic because we all love ginger. I used a 10 oz package of noodles as that is the size they came in. When making this don't over cook the noodles or you will end up with mush. 4 - 5 minutes is all they take. Have everything chopped and prepped as this comes together really fast and there is no time to stop and measure or chop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
To all those who say this meal doesn't have very much flavor, I want to remind you that chow mien is a mild dish with subtle flavors. It is not a heavily spiced or spicy dish. I prepared this dish exactly as written being very careful with accuracy in measuring. I followed the preparation as written. The chicken was very flavorful and moist. I did salt it slightly after browning it in the pan. The veggies added the right amount of crunch and sweetness. The flavor was subtle but I thought it was very flavorful. I cooked the noodles 5 minutes, and after assembling all the ingredients together, I brought the broth to a boil, then turned off the burner and let the noodle mixture sit for about 5 minutes. This let them absorb most of the liquid, which made them just the right consistency and the sauce thicker. This is the best chow mein recipe I have ever tasted. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'gal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
The recipe did take a lot of prep work but the taste was as good as the lo mein noodles in a Chinese restaurant without the greasy taste. My children loved it and asked for seconds. I especially appreciated the additions of vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rmacmillans6

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This was bland. I did make a couple changes that probably affected flavor some, but I doubt they would have changed the overall flavor enough to make much of a difference. Instead of sesame oil, I used canola oil plus a very generous amount of sesame seeds to get the sesame flavor. Instead of Oyster Sauce, I used 2 T chicken broth + 1/4 tsp white vinegar. To make it palatable, I needed to add a lot more green onion, soy sauce and garlic salt. This is probably a good base recipe. Will play with it to try to make it really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Changed it a little by replacing the zucchini with bean sprouts and didn't have oyster sauce on hand so just used broth. We used dry noodles instead of the cooked noodles. My husband loved it and he is very pick about his Chinese food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Great recipe, easy to modify... Using what I had on hand substituted skinless thighs, and instead of marinating cooked in very light sesame oil with minced ginger and soy sauce, removed the bones as they cooked & added the cornstarch mixed with a little cold water and 1 Tbsp soy sauce plus a little garlic/onion powder after the broth/oyster sauce/sugar mix. Also used only 1 head bok choy, but upped to 1 whole small zucchini and added a little celery, 1/2 can water chestnuts and 1/2 can cut baby corn. Very flexible. As prepared, it was really flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Watch the video if you haven't yet. This is really great dish. I added a bit of coleslaw mix instead of bok choy when I realized I had forgotten to buy some. Not the same, but it worked out beautifully. I've used pork instead of chicken, and we've used both. We love this meal, I add mushrooms to ours, sometimes little corn on the cobs, whatever we have in the pantry when we get a craving for this chow mein. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
very good my daughter ate 4 plates!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I made it following the recipe step by step, except added a little more oil for the vegetables. I liked it and would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States