Chow Mein With Chicken and Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This is amazingly flavorless in a way that defies physics, cooking and all reason. I dumped in an entire bottle of teriyaki sauce & a cup of peanuts to attempt to coax it back to life, but nothing could be done; our dinner had flatlined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I made this for dinner last night and it must have been very good because there was none left by the time I got around to eating! Everyone loved it. I added a little fresh, finely minced ginger with the garlic because we all love ginger. I used a 10 oz package of noodles as that is the size they came in. When making this don't over cook the noodles or you will end up with mush. 4 - 5 minutes is all they take. Have everything chopped and prepped as this comes together really fast and there is no time to stop and measure or chop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
The recipe did take a lot of prep work but the taste was as good as the lo mein noodles in a Chinese restaurant without the greasy taste. My children loved it and asked for seconds. I especially appreciated the additions of vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rmacmillans6

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This was bland. I did make a couple changes that probably affected flavor some, but I doubt they would have changed the overall flavor enough to make much of a difference. Instead of sesame oil, I used canola oil plus a very generous amount of sesame seeds to get the sesame flavor. Instead of Oyster Sauce, I used 2 T chicken broth + 1/4 tsp white vinegar. To make it palatable, I needed to add a lot more green onion, soy sauce and garlic salt. This is probably a good base recipe. Will play with it to try to make it really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Changed it a little by replacing the zucchini with bean sprouts and didn't have oyster sauce on hand so just used broth. We used dry noodles instead of the cooked noodles. My husband loved it and he is very pick about his Chinese food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Great recipe, easy to modify... Using what I had on hand substituted skinless thighs, and instead of marinating cooked in very light sesame oil with minced ginger and soy sauce, removed the bones as they cooked & added the cornstarch mixed with a little cold water and 1 Tbsp soy sauce plus a little garlic/onion powder after the broth/oyster sauce/sugar mix. Also used only 1 head bok choy, but upped to 1 whole small zucchini and added a little celery, 1/2 can water chestnuts and 1/2 can cut baby corn. Very flexible. As prepared, it was really flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I made it following the recipe step by step, except added a little more oil for the vegetables. I liked it and would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Very good. I put more snap peas in and probably more carrot, but less bok choy and it was much more than 4 servings!! We definitely have dinner for tomorrow. Also, I used baked tofu for the chicken and "Not chicken" bouillon (for vegetarians)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
very good my daughter ate 4 plates!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I wish I could go to her restaurant...because this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States