Chow Mein with Chicken and Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Watch the video if you haven't yet. This is really great dish. I added a bit of coleslaw mix instead of bok choy when I realized I had forgotten to buy some. Not the same, but it worked out beautifully. I've used pork instead of chicken, and we've used both. We love this meal, I add mushrooms to ours, sometimes little corn on the cobs, whatever we have in the pantry when we get a craving for this chow mein. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Very good liked all the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This was really good. Not bland at all, with just the right amount of spice/flavor. I believe this was because what I had on hand was spicy oyster sauce and hot chili sesame oil instead of regular sesame oil. I used two 6-oz packages of precooked yakisoba noodles. I omitted the zucchini. We all enjoyed it and will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I've made this 3 times now and each time I tweek the ingredients. The last time I made it, it was spot on. I use teriyaki marinade to marinate the chicken and make twice the broth it calls for. I add mushrooms and carrots for more veggies. I won't use bok choy anymore (bok choy in sounthern indiana is way too expensive). I use a large head of cabbage instead and we think it adds much more flavor than the bok choy. I also just use thin whole wheat spaghetti noodles because we tried the organic ramen noodles and they weren't any better (and cost 3 times as much) than the spaghetti. I only gave 4 stars because I switched things up a bit to our taste but this is such a wonderful recipe and is now a once a week dinner in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This is an amazing recipe. It does lack flavor in the end so I always add a bit of Thai sweet chili sauce on my plate portion. I dump in a lot more veggies too. And don't over-cook the veggies, it is delicious when they are a bit crispy still. Thanks so much for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I just made this for dinner tonight and my husband called it "The best thing you've cooked in a long time." He polished off two bowls! It was a little bland, but we added more soy sauce and hot sauce at the table. I also added a generous amount of fresh grated ginger to the chicken / soy / cornstarch mixture. Will definitely be making this again! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
To all those who say this meal doesn't have very much flavor, I want to remind you that chow mien is a mild dish with subtle flavors. It is not a heavily spiced or spicy dish. I prepared this dish exactly as written being very careful with accuracy in measuring. I followed the preparation as written. The chicken was very flavorful and moist. I did salt it slightly after browning it in the pan. The veggies added the right amount of crunch and sweetness. The flavor was subtle but I thought it was very flavorful. I cooked the noodles 5 minutes, and after assembling all the ingredients together, I brought the broth to a boil, then turned off the burner and let the noodle mixture sit for about 5 minutes. This let them absorb most of the liquid, which made them just the right consistency and the sauce thicker. This is the best chow mein recipe I have ever tasted. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'gal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Excellent Stir fry best I have had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roger Erdmann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
the marinade was good but bought the wrong noodles. It turned mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This was bland. I did make a couple changes that probably affected flavor some, but I doubt they would have changed the overall flavor enough to make much of a difference. Instead of sesame oil, I used canola oil plus a very generous amount of sesame seeds to get the sesame flavor. Instead of Oyster Sauce, I used 2 T chicken broth + 1/4 tsp white vinegar. To make it palatable, I needed to add a lot more green onion, soy sauce and garlic salt. This is probably a good base recipe. Will play with it to try to make it really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States