Chow Mein with Chicken and Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I ended up not being able to find Bok Choy and substituted Spinach. Was the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Watch the video if you haven't yet. This is really great dish. I added a bit of coleslaw mix instead of bok choy when I realized I had forgotten to buy some. Not the same, but it worked out beautifully. I've used pork instead of chicken, and we've used both. We love this meal, I add mushrooms to ours, sometimes little corn on the cobs, whatever we have in the pantry when we get a craving for this chow mein. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Very good liked all the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This was really good. Not bland at all, with just the right amount of spice/flavor. I believe this was because what I had on hand was spicy oyster sauce and hot chili sesame oil instead of regular sesame oil. I used two 6-oz packages of precooked yakisoba noodles. I omitted the zucchini. We all enjoyed it and will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I've made this 3 times now and each time I tweek the ingredients. The last time I made it, it was spot on. I use teriyaki marinade to marinate the chicken and make twice the broth it calls for. I add mushrooms and carrots for more veggies. I won't use bok choy anymore (bok choy in sounthern indiana is way too expensive). I use a large head of cabbage instead and we think it adds much more flavor than the bok choy. I also just use thin whole wheat spaghetti noodles because we tried the organic ramen noodles and they weren't any better (and cost 3 times as much) than the spaghetti. I only gave 4 stars because I switched things up a bit to our taste but this is such a wonderful recipe and is now a once a week dinner in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This is an amazing recipe. It does lack flavor in the end so I always add a bit of Thai sweet chili sauce on my plate portion. I dump in a lot more veggies too. And don't over-cook the veggies, it is delicious when they are a bit crispy still. Thanks so much for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I just made this for dinner tonight and my husband called it "The best thing you've cooked in a long time." He polished off two bowls! It was a little bland, but we added more soy sauce and hot sauce at the table. I also added a generous amount of fresh grated ginger to the chicken / soy / cornstarch mixture. Will definitely be making this again! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
To all those who say this meal doesn't have very much flavor, I want to remind you that chow mien is a mild dish with subtle flavors. It is not a heavily spiced or spicy dish. I prepared this dish exactly as written being very careful with accuracy in measuring. I followed the preparation as written. The chicken was very flavorful and moist. I did salt it slightly after browning it in the pan. The veggies added the right amount of crunch and sweetness. The flavor was subtle but I thought it was very flavorful. I cooked the noodles 5 minutes, and after assembling all the ingredients together, I brought the broth to a boil, then turned off the burner and let the noodle mixture sit for about 5 minutes. This let them absorb most of the liquid, which made them just the right consistency and the sauce thicker. This is the best chow mein recipe I have ever tasted. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'gal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Excellent Stir fry best I have had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
the marinade was good but bought the wrong noodles. It turned mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States