Chow Mein Noodle Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Make these every year during the holidays. They are the hubby's favorite. Perfect combo of salty and sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackfam5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I loved this cookie when growing up but we made 'Haystacks' with 1 cup of creamy peanut butter mixed into 2 cups of melted butterscotch chips. Then we used a combo of chow mein noodles and mini marshmallows mixed in and dropped on a cookie sheet. Chill for an hour and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This is a great cookie recipe, a Christmas favorite at our house. I use equal amounts of chocolate chips & butterscotch chips. For those who have difficulty melting & mixing, melt chocolate over a double boiler on medium hear and avoid getting any water near the chocolate - even one drop of moisture will "seize your chocolate" and cause problems. adding a large tablespoon of peanut butter to melting chocolate will ease the chocolate and make adding the broken noodles and peanuts easy. it took me many attempts to identify the problems with the chocolate. Enjoy!!!!!! By Elder Cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
my mother used to make these all the time, we call them "spider cookies" they're awesome for the kids to bring 2 school. very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I made these today, my mother used to make these when we were younger, I have not had these in 20 years and they turned out fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWIWI11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Grovetown, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
These are awesome. I did have to add about 2-3TB of shortening (I used butter flavored) to the chips as I was melting them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
these are yummy, but anyone saying they are easy must be doing it better than me i found these incredibly difficult---they stuck to everything (i'm going to have to take a jackhammer to my stovetop), clung to my fingers as i tried to push them off the spoon, and as soon as i mixed the peanuts and noodles into the melted butterscotch chips it all seized up into this hard lump! so i turned the heat up to melt them again and scorched the bottom of the lump...maybe i'm just not cut out to be a baker...did i mention that i burnt my fingers in the melted butterscotch?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Talk about easy! Been making this for years. It's a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Great recipe! I have been wondering the name of the recipe for ever. I do prefer when melting the buterscotch chips to add a little vegetable oil to keep it from seizing up, don't use butter/margaring in place of it. Also I used 1 cup of peanut butter with the recipe as well and it was still delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cblack10

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Made these today for Easter, but had to double the amount of chow mein noodles(5oz. was just not enuf for 3 cups of chips) and added 2 tsp. coconut oil when the chips started to seize up in the double boiler. I formed the clusters into nests and put jelly beans in the center. They were just too cute and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Puppy Chow

Make this irresistible snack kids and grownups will love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States