Chow Mein Noodle Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This is a five star recipe with the following changes and additions: Use one can cream of mushroom, one can cream of celery. Add one can of sliced water chestnuts. Add either one can of mushrooms or fresh. Up rice to one and a half cups, you can just pour in uncooked white rice. I have never used beef, I always use ground turkey and it tastes delicious! Bake at 375 for 45-50 min until bubbly, do not put on chow mein noodles until the last 10 minutes in oven. Divide noodles so you have some to top each serving with for crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
My teenage daughter approves this dish because it reminds her of Hamburger Helper, which is great because this is much healthier! I doubled the rice, used 1.5 lbs of ground beef, but would recommend also doubling the celery. Next time, I might add additional veggies - maybe green beans, peas, carrot slivers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Like others, I used cream of mushroom soup and 2 cups of rice. It reminds me of my childhood so that is why I think I love this recipe so much. It's not fancy but it just tastes good to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
My family really liked this! I served steamed oriental dumplings with plum sauce or honey garlic sauce with it! I do think next time I'm going to try adding a little green pepper to the casserole next time, just because i think it would go well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blondiegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
My family really likes this. I usually cut the recipe in half since my family isn't crazy about left overs. It's quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I got this recipe out of a sunset cookbook 40 years ago, minus the almonds. Back then all you could get in most grocery stores was La Choy soy sauce, for my own taste I have found it works the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canon City, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I have a similar recipe that I like a bit more..... it uses Cream of MUSHROOM soup and canned or sautéed mushrooms and bamboo shoots cut into thin matchsticks. NO water! Soy sauce and condensed Cr of Mush soup are the only liquids. I omit the celery, but the almonds are a must!! Place in BUTTERED casserole and bake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This is a really tasty casserole. The only problem I had was the chow mein noodles started to burn on top. I had to take some off before I served it. I think next time I make this, I will add them halfway through the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I've been using this recipe for years and all of my picky eaters love it. The only change I made was to increase the celery! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States