Chow Mein Clusters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
Who would guess this would make something so yummy? I frequently have trouble getting butterscotch chips to melt smoothly. For some reason they like to turn into a lumpy mess so I usually add a tablespoon of shortening to the chips to help them stay smooth (butter won't work, the water in it just adds to the problem!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
This recipe is incredibly versatile. In addition to making them as the recipe states, I have also made them with chocolate chips, peanut butter chips, raisins and mini marshmallows. But my most favorite of all these combinations is the one with raisins, honey roasted peanuts and cappucino chips. Yum! Thanks Becca!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
THIS IS IT! :) My Grandma made cookies that we all called Noodle Cookies. She is no longer with us and I've been searching for the exact recipe she used. This is it! The only butterscotch chips that work well are Nestles. If you use an off brand it doesn't melt well. Also I'd like to add that I put my chips in the micro to melt. Much easier then a double boiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabaEva

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
It is a good recipe but instead of using peanuts and butterscotch chips use marshmallows and peanut butter mix it up with your noodles and you have a great no bake treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Super easy and yummy. I took the advise to microwave the chips on the "defrost" function rather than use a double broiler. I have a Whirlpool Gold and I selected Defrost, Fish, and .5 pounds (or pressed 5 on the keypad) and it worked great. I forgot to stir during the heating too. My batch produced about 28 cookies. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLBUMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I REMEMBER MY MOTHER MAKING SOMETHING VERY CLOSE TO THIS ONLY WITH DARK CHOCOLATE. WHAT A GREAT CHILDHOOD MEMORY. THANKS FOR TAKING BE BACK TO THE GOOD OLD DAYS. NOW I CAN PASS IT ON TO MY KIDS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
Excellent and easy recipe for satisfying that sweet tooth! For chips used 1/2 butterscotch chips and 1/2 white chocolate. Also added bits of cashews to the peanuts. Tip for first time makers (like me): Definitely use a double broiler. After mixing it all together, keep the heat on low and spoon from bottom where the mixture is warm. Makes it much easier to form the drops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
When I first read the ingredients to this recipe I couldn't imagine it tasting good. Was I wrong! It's quick, easy and tastes good. However, I did not use a double-boiler. I just melted the butterscotch chips in a saucepan on low heat which seemed to work fine. I'll definately add this one to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
Huge hit. Many folks I've served these to seem to remember it from school lunchrooms in their childhood. Save the trouble of the double boiler, and melt the butterscotch in the microwave on a defrost setting, stirring often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
I loved these when I was a little kid but have never been able to find the recipe for them because I didn't know what they were called. Thank goodness for this site! I made these yesterday and they were perfect - absolutely delicious! I omitted the nuts, and made half with butterscotch morsels and the other half with chocolate chips (which is how I remember them from years ago). Both were superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States