Chow Clusters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
For a high fiber snack, use Fiber One cereal instead, it looks just like Chow Mein Noodles, and covered with chocolate you can't tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I've been making a cookie like this for years and called it "Scotch Crunchies". My recipe has one cup of cashews instead of 1/2 cup, but I've also noticed you can adjust this recipe to your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Gonzales

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
I made these last December (2001) and brought them to work as a snack. There were a hit. A friend asked for the recipe to make them with his daugther for Christams. Tip: Once you put everything together, stir quickly because it will stiffen up really quick.--sk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This recipe is easy and fun to do with others. Good recipe for kids! The only downside is that the chocolate melts fast, so if you don't serve these cold, they get all over everyones fingers and fall apart a little. Also, cook over LOW heat, because the chocolate will taste bad if you cook it too fast and it can get stuck to the bottom of the pan. Also, like a previous reviewer said, stir the mixins in quickly, because it thickens FAST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
My kids have enjoyed these for about 18 years now! They are a wonderful candy! We call ours, Chinese New Year Candy, but it goes by many names. We use, 1- 12oz. bag semi sweet choc. chips, 1- 12oz. bag butterscoth chips,(I think there is 2 cups in bag). Only 1- 6oz.can chinese noodles and 1- 14oz.bag of spanish peanuts. You can also add 12oz. of raisins if you like. I melt my chips on top of double boiler until melted, remove from heat and then stir in all the crunchy things.(if kids are using double boiler, be careful because hot water can spurt between pans and make sure you don't get any water in choc. mix). I drop by tablespoon onto wax papper to set, but can speed that up by putting in refrigerator. These also freeze wonderful for several months! Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I love this recipe. I like using dark chocolate and milk chocolate, but on occasion use white chocolate, dried cranberries and pecans. Everyone is amazed at how easy this recipe is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Five stars for easy! The grandkids loved them. Yes, they are sweet - they are supposed to be! I added more nuts - but that is just because we all like lots of nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
These are so simple to make and a great treat for kids to help with. I used 1 cup cashews instead of 1/2 cup. These ARE very sweet, so make them small. I think you can do a lot of fun variations with this recipe; next time I'm trying white chocolate chips, dried cranberries and pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This is ALMOST the same recipe that my family has been using for years. We love them- always a crowd pleaser. Here's a few things we've found out over the years. (1) Using Peanuts (salted or unsalted) actually tastes better and is cheaper (but cashews work fine) (2) For the amount of chow mein noodles this recipe calls for I'd actually use 1 bag of butterscotch and 1 bag of semi-sweet chocolate. otherwise you're going to have a heck of a time covering all those noodles. (3) double boiler works best for melting the chips but a pot is fine- just watch you don't burn the chocolate - keep the heat low and if it starts to look grainy you've overdone it. (4) never use the rice noodles instead of the chow mein noodles (they hurt your mouth) (5) semi-sweet chocolate is best because milk chocolate and butterscotch winds up way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Super simple to make and even better to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States