Chow Clusters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Was so excited to try out this recipe. The butterscotch was so overpowering I couldn't taste anything else. No one in my family cared for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
excellent recipe, I've made this before and always turns out very well. This time, I chose not to use the cashews in the purpose of making a bird's nest for Easter.....will make again TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Christmas Tradition, tasted great and messy to make! I also add some extra cashews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manistee, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This is ALMOST the same recipe that my family has been using for years. We love them- always a crowd pleaser. Here's a few things we've found out over the years. (1) Using Peanuts (salted or unsalted) actually tastes better and is cheaper (but cashews work fine) (2) For the amount of chow mein noodles this recipe calls for I'd actually use 1 bag of butterscotch and 1 bag of semi-sweet chocolate. otherwise you're going to have a heck of a time covering all those noodles. (3) double boiler works best for melting the chips but a pot is fine- just watch you don't burn the chocolate - keep the heat low and if it starts to look grainy you've overdone it. (4) never use the rice noodles instead of the chow mein noodles (they hurt your mouth) (5) semi-sweet chocolate is best because milk chocolate and butterscotch winds up way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
These are Delicious! I do use all chocolate and omit the nuts these are always a nice addition to my cookie platter at Christmas been making these for years!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Five stars for easy! The grandkids loved them. Yes, they are sweet - they are supposed to be! I added more nuts - but that is just because we all like lots of nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
These are so simple to make and a great treat for kids to help with. I used 1 cup cashews instead of 1/2 cup. These ARE very sweet, so make them small. I think you can do a lot of fun variations with this recipe; next time I'm trying white chocolate chips, dried cranberries and pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Super simple to make and even better to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I love this recipe. I like using dark chocolate and milk chocolate, but on occasion use white chocolate, dried cranberries and pecans. Everyone is amazed at how easy this recipe is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I've been making a cookie like this for years and called it "Scotch Crunchies". My recipe has one cup of cashews instead of 1/2 cup, but I've also noticed you can adjust this recipe to your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Gonzales

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States