Chorizo and Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I enjoyed this hearty dish. It reminded me more of a chili than stew. Since I didn't have any celery on hand I used dried celery flakes. I started with 3 cups of vegetable broth and ended up adding about 2 more cups. I'm a vegetarian so I used soy chorizo and added potatoes and kale as others suggested. I made old fashioned cornbread with a little sugar to compliment the chorizo. I would make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rickay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Added diced potatoes, carrots instead of celery, parsley and used chicken broth instead of the water. No salt, no pepper, no cumin or curry. Was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
It was wonderful for a cold winter night. I used French lentils and Niman Ranch chorizo links. I did not use celery, but instead used an onion and 3 cloves of garlic. I also used a teaspoon of smoked Spanish paprika instead of curry. I could see pairing this with a nice green salad and some crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
To make this a meal in a dish, we added sliced carrots, gr. peppers and pork loin in bite size pieces. I had a chorizo sausage on hand and just used it sliced. Used chicken broth instead of water. I didn't have dried lentils so used a can of black beans and it was very good. We did increase the spices though, especially the curry. Finished this with chopped cilantro. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This dish was similar to a meal we had in a fabulous French restaurant. I added about 4 boneless skinless chicken thighs cut into bite size pieces. Great flavor and is even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhoda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This was very good, but seemed to be missing something. The following day I added cut up chicken to the leftovers and it seemed to give it a more well rounded flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reggie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Fabulous! I soaked the lentils in water for 24 hrs and then used 3 cups of lentils. Small changes: Added 2x the amt of the 3 seasonings, and some extra garlic. I used chorizo that I had already grilled, and then cut in half circles. I made sure I used the celery leaves too, for some added flavor, and a 1/4 cup of parsley. I blended the soup with an immersion blender to make it thicker. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L Mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erial, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Cheap, nutritious, filling, and delicious. An excellent soup that I look forward to making lots this fall/winter. Not pretty colour-wise, but anyone brave enough to try it will fall in love. Has the power to make believers out of celery/lentil haters. Make sure you keep an eye on the water level, adding more if necessary. (Modifications: I had 4 or 5 new potatoes I wanted to use, so I cut lentils back to 2/3c and used 2c of water/stock to start with, adding more when it looked low. On the suggestion of other reviewers, I added a tbsp of tomato paste with the spices and a few handfuls of spinach at the very end.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I doubled the garlic, added an onion, and had to add another 2 cups of broth. I also used chicken broth instead of water. No leftovers either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This is very nice, I used a little less Chorizo - 225g and next time I am going to add a coule of Red Chilli as I did not find it spicy at all. As others have suggested, adding other bits and bobs such as potato and carrots is a good idea as it is so rich. We ate with buttered granary bread. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHOTOBUBBLE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States