Chorizo and Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Awesome stew! Added a small onion and a little extra chorizo. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
We thought this was fantastic, as lentil soups go. And in general as far as any soup goes, this is one of my favorites. I was out of celery so I subbed 2 whole onions and 1 whole grated carrot. I added celery seed to get that flavor in there. When I make this again, I'll have the celery too, but I'll definitely keep the onions and carrot :) Thanks for the recipe, we loved the use of curry powder in this, it made these lentils sing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Perfect! We do not have chorizo in Slovenia, so I used some local sausage. I also replaced curry with 1/2 t cayenne pepper and added half cup of bulgur at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larisagrujic
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This was so tasty! I didn't have any celery on hand, so I added one tsp. of celery salt and chopped up carrots and onion along with the garlic. Everyone loved it, wasn't spicy~but tasty. Made it easy to please everyone, using the hot sauce at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovebeingamom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Loved it! Was very yummy and spicey, but that's b/c I added extra chile powder. I also added onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovecakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
easy, spicy and chill-chasing! even better the second day!! will probably experiment a great deal with this in future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I enjoyed this hearty dish. It reminded me more of a chili than stew. Since I didn't have any celery on hand I used dried celery flakes. I started with 3 cups of vegetable broth and ended up adding about 2 more cups. I'm a vegetarian so I used soy chorizo and added potatoes and kale as others suggested. I made old fashioned cornbread with a little sugar to compliment the chorizo. I would make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rickay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Added diced potatoes, carrots instead of celery, parsley and used chicken broth instead of the water. No salt, no pepper, no cumin or curry. Was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
It was wonderful for a cold winter night. I used French lentils and Niman Ranch chorizo links. I did not use celery, but instead used an onion and 3 cloves of garlic. I also used a teaspoon of smoked Spanish paprika instead of curry. I could see pairing this with a nice green salad and some crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
To make this a meal in a dish, we added sliced carrots, gr. peppers and pork loin in bite size pieces. I had a chorizo sausage on hand and just used it sliced. Used chicken broth instead of water. I didn't have dried lentils so used a can of black beans and it was very good. We did increase the spices though, especially the curry. Finished this with chopped cilantro. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States