Chorizo and Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Didn't care for this-too bland, will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
What a great meal I was able to make! I served this with the Simple Spiced Rice recipe from this site for a Indian-inspired dinner. I used Cacique Beef Chorizo, chicken broth instead of water, added 1 tsp of garam masala and no salt or pepper. I loved the texture, taste and spice! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2sabes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I really enjoyed this dish and its quick and so easy to make. I substituted turkey sausage for chorizo. I didn't have curry powder on hand but I had jerk seasoning powder. Man did that work out well. Next time I'll throw in some sauteed onions and chopped potatoes. It would definitely be great for a rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This stew is amazing. I make my own chorizo and so it is always ground chorizo. I put my Lentils in the crock pot with onion, celery, potatoes, carrots, broth/water and spices and in the evening it is an amazing tasty meal that really pleases. I would think this to be a winter meal but I tell you what doing it the crock keeps my house cool and coming home from the lake or pool it really is a great summer meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I followed the directions but added about 1/3 of an onion because I love onions in soup. I didn't find it too spicy or too salty, and I'm generally sensitive to that. Overall, I liked it a lot. But I wished it wasn't so thick and that there would have been more hot chorizo flavor. I think next time I will add at least 2 cups of chicken broth and maybe a bit more chorizo. I also read another review where some spinach was added, that might be a nice touch when there's more liquid. Edit: I made this recipe again and made the following changes--1) add 3 cups of chicken broth, 2) add 1/2 of a medium onion diced, and 3) add 12 oz. ground hot italian sausage. It was phenomenal! If that were the original recipe I'd give that 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Excellent! And incredibly easy. I didn't have celery but added in fresh spinach during the last few minutes of cooking. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missmiavega

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palestine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
If you want this to resemble a stew/soup, you will need to double the liquid. I don't understand having chorizo with the spices listed. It was just ok. I'm going to stick to my usual lentil soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
The flavors in this recipe are very, very good, but it's not what I would call a stew. The only change I made to the recipe was substituting a can of chicken broth for some water (I still used 3 cups of liquid) and it came out more like a thick sauce you would eat over rice than something eaten from a bowl. In fact, with the exception of the chorizo this had very strong Indian flavors. It was tasty enough that I'll make it again; the only reason for four stars instead of five is that the "stew" implies it's a meal in itself, whereas it really needs a little something to go with it. Next time I'll serve it over Basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States