Chorizo and Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Didn't care for this-too bland, will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
What a great meal I was able to make! I served this with the Simple Spiced Rice recipe from this site for a Indian-inspired dinner. I used Cacique Beef Chorizo, chicken broth instead of water, added 1 tsp of garam masala and no salt or pepper. I loved the texture, taste and spice! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2sabes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I really enjoyed this dish and its quick and so easy to make. I substituted turkey sausage for chorizo. I didn't have curry powder on hand but I had jerk seasoning powder. Man did that work out well. Next time I'll throw in some sauteed onions and chopped potatoes. It would definitely be great for a rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This stew is amazing. I make my own chorizo and so it is always ground chorizo. I put my Lentils in the crock pot with onion, celery, potatoes, carrots, broth/water and spices and in the evening it is an amazing tasty meal that really pleases. I would think this to be a winter meal but I tell you what doing it the crock keeps my house cool and coming home from the lake or pool it really is a great summer meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I followed the directions but added about 1/3 of an onion because I love onions in soup. I didn't find it too spicy or too salty, and I'm generally sensitive to that. Overall, I liked it a lot. But I wished it wasn't so thick and that there would have been more hot chorizo flavor. I think next time I will add at least 2 cups of chicken broth and maybe a bit more chorizo. I also read another review where some spinach was added, that might be a nice touch when there's more liquid. Edit: I made this recipe again and made the following changes--1) add 3 cups of chicken broth, 2) add 1/2 of a medium onion diced, and 3) add 12 oz. ground hot italian sausage. It was phenomenal! If that were the original recipe I'd give that 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Excellent! And incredibly easy. I didn't have celery but added in fresh spinach during the last few minutes of cooking. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missmiavega

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palestine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
If you want this to resemble a stew/soup, you will need to double the liquid. I don't understand having chorizo with the spices listed. It was just ok. I'm going to stick to my usual lentil soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
The flavors in this recipe are very, very good, but it's not what I would call a stew. The only change I made to the recipe was substituting a can of chicken broth for some water (I still used 3 cups of liquid) and it came out more like a thick sauce you would eat over rice than something eaten from a bowl. In fact, with the exception of the chorizo this had very strong Indian flavors. It was tasty enough that I'll make it again; the only reason for four stars instead of five is that the "stew" implies it's a meal in itself, whereas it really needs a little something to go with it. Next time I'll serve it over Basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States