Chorizo and Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Delicious stew! The chorizo gives it a smoky flavor. I added potatoes and carrots to make it a true one-pot meal, great for a chilly evening'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This was simply too spicy for my husband and I, and we like spicy. I think if I had used a different brand/kind of chorizo this might have tasted really good. I may try it again with something milder. It's not going in my box as is however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYFRO97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
This recipe was good but I thought it lacked in a couple of areas. My family likes A LOT of flavor so that may be why. I added Corriander to give it a little more brightness. Next time I will add a leafy green such as Kale. It could use the texture of something like that and why not fit in something extra nutritious whenever you can?! I'm looking forward to making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star_Eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Photo by Ms. SassyRoo
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This was really good! When I said what I was making for dinner my girlfriend turned her nose up at it (she doesn't care much for lentils). But after her first bite she was in heaven. I added an onion, some kale, and used chiken broth instead of water. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. SassyRoo

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Salinas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Never really made lentils before and this was the perfect recipe for a first timer. I did make some tweeks due to what I had/didn't have on hand. Didn't use celery, didn't use curry, didn't use, turmeric. DID use 1 chopped red onion, DID use 1/2 teaspoon dried crushed oregano, DID use 1 cooking spoon of spanish style tomato sauce, DID use 1 packet of ham bouillon, DID stir in cilantro at the end. DELISH!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ds R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sabana Grande, Sabana Grande, Puerto Rico
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Delicious!! I followed the recipe, except for using chicken broth in place of water and I added a small onion as the 1st step. I also used a good chorizo sausage link, sliced. It's a keeper -- thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Great base recipe. I used the Mexican style pork chorizo and it turned out great. I definitely made this my own, using a 16 oz. bag of lentils, subbed 6 cups chicken broth for the water, only 2 ribs celery, added onions, carrots and spinach. I held off on the turmeric and curry powder and used cumin, crushed red pepper, oregano and tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
This was really gross. First off- i used Mexican Chorizo Sausage which basically cooks down into what looks like hamburger which made this dish look like dog food and it didnt taste much better. I think if i would have used another type of link sausage this recipe would be much much better. My suggestion: use link sausage and stay away from the Mexican Chorizo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This is so good and so simple to make. The smell is amazing when cooking. I made it as written and it was very good. Second time I added a 2 tablespoon of tomato paste and used chicken stock instead of water and it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Very very good, and easy for an after-work meal. Just used italian sausage to tone down the spice a little and added some onions because, well, we put onions in everything :-) Overall a great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States