Chorizo and Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Not sure. I liked this quite a bit but then I really like chorizo and I like lentils. But I'm not sure if the combination was anything special since the chorizo flavour is quite strong. I will try this a second time to see and try some other chorizo recipes to compare. Am updating this review as I made this again - I know I was ravenous but it is soooo tasty. I don't think I would make this for friends for a full dinner but its very good as a supper - a small amount is very filling - or just a smaller evening meal - with crusty bread which takes a little edge of the spicyness - yes, its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
This was wonderful. I did use caution since I have a 3 year old. Didn't want to go overboard with the spice. Omitted the extra spices because the Chorizo itself has plenty of it.. My husband really enjoyed this.. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Apart from omitting the celery (I was making it for Husband, and he doesn't like cooked celery), I made this as written, and really wasn't impressed with the flavor. I ended up adding in some sauteed onions and jalapenos, a handful of chopped fresh cilantro, and a few Tbsps of tomato paste mixed with chicken broth. It was ok - a little too salty - but nothing to really go crazy about. This was pretty healthy but not something I'd make again. Thanks ahyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This is now one of my favourite stew recipes - I always add in some frozen chopped spinach, and often chop up and toss in whatever veg I have on hand that I need to use up - bet you could use kale as well, will try that next time. Works great in the slow cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
My son and I think this is wonderful! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This made for spicy lentils. I like some spice, but I'm probably not going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Not my favorite. It was a little too hot, without being all that flavorful, for me. ***** I have to change my rating from three stars to one. I'd been generous at first, but really, it didn't deserve all three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
A solid four star recipe. It doesn't look appetizing, but tastes pretty good. Husband actually gave it two thumbs up. oh yeah! I made this exactly as stated, just sprinkled some cheese on top at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bothpaninis
Home Town: Damascus, Maryland, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Great dish. When I read some reviews that this dish was too spicy, I was like "Are you kidding me?" But the very next day, the spices started to kick into the dish. The only subs I made were red lentils instead of green lentils. Also, after 17 minutes of simmering, my lentils were done. But that's probably due to the differences between the red and green lentils. I actually had to save the dish with a few more cups of water. One thing, is this an Indian dish or a Latin American dish? Update: This dish is spicier the next day. Bravo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Really good! I added potatoes and carrots which were a delicious addition. I also sauteed mushroom with the garlic. Love the flavors!! Instead of salt I used one beef bullion cube with the 3 cups of water and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States