Chorizo and Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was good but a bit salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I didn't follow the recipe exactly. Ended up using Italian sausage instead of chorizo and used a pound of meat. Used about half the amount of celery and added half a diced onion. Also added 2 cut up roma tomatoes and a couple handfuls of baby greens at the end. I used 4 cups of chicken broth and 1 cup of water. I did stay true to the amount of lentils and seasonings. The seasonings were perfect and I really enjoyed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Five star all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
It needed 5 cups of liquid. I used a combo of chicken/beef stock base. I added 2 large diced carrots, half a bunch of kale, half a large onion, diced, and decreased celery to 3 stalks. I used the seasonings listed except subbed garam masala for the curry powder and added 1 tsp of coriander, and sauteed them with the onion/garlic. Smells awesome and tastes very good. My chorizo was chicken with Mex seasoning made by my local Sprouts store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Awesome stew! Added a small onion and a little extra chorizo. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
We thought this was fantastic, as lentil soups go. And in general as far as any soup goes, this is one of my favorites. I was out of celery so I subbed 2 whole onions and 1 whole grated carrot. I added celery seed to get that flavor in there. When I make this again, I'll have the celery too, but I'll definitely keep the onions and carrot :) Thanks for the recipe, we loved the use of curry powder in this, it made these lentils sing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Perfect! We do not have chorizo in Slovenia, so I used some local sausage. I also replaced curry with 1/2 t cayenne pepper and added half cup of bulgur at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larisagrujic
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This was so tasty! I didn't have any celery on hand, so I added one tsp. of celery salt and chopped up carrots and onion along with the garlic. Everyone loved it, wasn't spicy~but tasty. Made it easy to please everyone, using the hot sauce at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovebeingamom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Loved it! Was very yummy and spicey, but that's b/c I added extra chile powder. I also added onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovecakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
easy, spicy and chill-chasing! even better the second day!! will probably experiment a great deal with this in future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States