Chorizo and Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This was really good. I used fake chorizo, and added in some carrots and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Wow! I know I tweaked this but not much, I made triple the amount and everyone loved it. Thanks for sharing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I added black beans, spinach and used homemade beef broth. Everyone in my family loved it and it was a very hearty and filling meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana
Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Added chopped onion and carrot. My husband REALLY liked it (this is his rating). It was a bit too much on the spicy side for me - I would give 3 stars or dial things down a notch. Cleared out my sinuses though! It came out more like a chili than a stew, but that was fine. Served it with a big green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
An excellent dish to introduce hubby to the wonder of lentils. He loved it as did I. Have made it several more times and it is now a favorite dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kidzmom42

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Didn't care for this neither did my family. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYNDEELYNN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Really, really good as-is and lends itself well to improvisation if you're lacking (or want to add or substitute ingredients). I subbed beef kielbasa for the chorizo which is really hard to get where I live and it was still great. After tasting I wanted to get more creative with the spices, so I threw in a little hot paprika, ginger, coriander seed, and cardamom, then stirred in a little tomato paste that I had leftover from yesterday. I bulked it up more by throwing in some leftover garbanzo beans too, and it tastes an awful lot like channa masala, which I love. I know you could improvise as much as you wanted with the vegetables...basically whatever you like or have hanging around in the fridge would work great. This is a great "all-purpose" Indian curry starter recipe and I had a lot of fun with it. Make it, you'll enjoy it, even as written here. Have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buxton, Maine, USA
Living In: Porter, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This will be a keeper! I had never thought of using Chorizo in anything other than eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Island Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
The only way to go is to use Basque (instead of mexican) Chorizos. They are very hard to find but Gem Meat Packing Company in Boise Idaho makes the best and most authentic Basque chorizos that can be shipped all over the country. Every Basque like me knows exactly where to get them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Good recipe. I added 1 tsp of garam masala (for more spice), and 1 can of black beans. I think more liquid is definitely needed for it to be a stew - maybe about 5 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States