Chorizo and Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I really liked this dish. Spicy and easy and filling. Good for a cold night! I would love to add some more veggies to it, personal preference. But, it is a cheap dish to make and it fills you up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Schule

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Beeville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Delicious!! I made homemade chicken stock by using my pressure cooker and cooking two roasted chicken carcasses (after the meat had been removed) with water. I used this stock in the stew rather than water and it enhanced an already tasty recipe. I also cooked the chorizo first and drained off excess fat, then cooked the onion and garlic with the meat. I didn't want to drain away flavors and vitamins with the fat. I followed someone else's lead and added cubed potatoes and carrots. My last change to the recipe was to stir in a couple of tablespoons of tomato paste at the end of cooking. This added additional nutritive value and enlivened the flavors a bit. We ate with a salad and a hearty bread for a truly scrumptious meal. I'd give it seven stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Simple, delicious, and nutritious! A great way to eat lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
It's a keeper! I also took some of the other reviewers suggestions. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Lee Gunn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Delicious! Used the small hard Chorizon Estilo Espanol and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
this was very good. i used and made my own chicken broth and added some of the meat left from that. added some kale and carrots also. we liked the spice of chorizo. i would not have thought to use indian spices, but it works for us. i should have tossed some flour in with the veggies before adding the broth to have a thicker consistancy for the stew. for me it was more like a soup. but, either way it was delicious. thanks for the post Spiderwoman77!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
The flavor profile of this dish is very nice! I was a bit iffy on combining chorizo with Indian spices, but it turned out well. I wilted spinach into it at the end so I felt like I was being a bit healthier. The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is that it was soooo thin. Next time I make it, I will either decrease the liquid or increase the lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
EXCELLENT!!! Used sliced chicken chorizo links. Added 1 small diced onion, 2 chicken bouillon cubes, 2 sliced carrots, 2 cubed russet potatoes, a few sliced cherry tomatoes that were threatening to go bad, and 1/2 bag baby spinach. Served with warmed Naan. DYN-O-MITE!! rave reviews from the fam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peekers93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trumansburg, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Excellent. Flavorful. Spicy, deep rich taste. Made it exactly as listed except I increased cooking time by 10 minutes or so because lentils were not tender to my liking. Highly recommended, especially for cold weather .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
This is a great recipe! I took other reviewers advice and added a teaspoon each of garam masala and coriander, 1 onion, 2 medium potatoes and I used 3 cups of chicken broth and 1 cup water. I only had a half pound of chorizo on hand and it turned out fine with that. I think next time I will stick to only 3 cups of liquid, I'd like it to be more stew-ish. Served over rice it is wonderful! This is definitely going into the rotation, I may try it with chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States