Chorizo and Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I made a few minor modifications to the recipe. I used Better than Bouillon Chicken instead of just water and added shrimp at the end. I served it with rice. The picky kids even loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I really liked this dish. Spicy and easy and filling. Good for a cold night! I would love to add some more veggies to it, personal preference. But, it is a cheap dish to make and it fills you up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Schule

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Beeville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Delicious!! I made homemade chicken stock by using my pressure cooker and cooking two roasted chicken carcasses (after the meat had been removed) with water. I used this stock in the stew rather than water and it enhanced an already tasty recipe. I also cooked the chorizo first and drained off excess fat, then cooked the onion and garlic with the meat. I didn't want to drain away flavors and vitamins with the fat. I followed someone else's lead and added cubed potatoes and carrots. My last change to the recipe was to stir in a couple of tablespoons of tomato paste at the end of cooking. This added additional nutritive value and enlivened the flavors a bit. We ate with a salad and a hearty bread for a truly scrumptious meal. I'd give it seven stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Simple, delicious, and nutritious! A great way to eat lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
It's a keeper! I also took some of the other reviewers suggestions. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Lee Gunn
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Delicious! Used the small hard Chorizon Estilo Espanol and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
this was very good. i used and made my own chicken broth and added some of the meat left from that. added some kale and carrots also. we liked the spice of chorizo. i would not have thought to use indian spices, but it works for us. i should have tossed some flour in with the veggies before adding the broth to have a thicker consistancy for the stew. for me it was more like a soup. but, either way it was delicious. thanks for the post Spiderwoman77!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
The flavor profile of this dish is very nice! I was a bit iffy on combining chorizo with Indian spices, but it turned out well. I wilted spinach into it at the end so I felt like I was being a bit healthier. The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is that it was soooo thin. Next time I make it, I will either decrease the liquid or increase the lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
EXCELLENT!!! Used sliced chicken chorizo links. Added 1 small diced onion, 2 chicken bouillon cubes, 2 sliced carrots, 2 cubed russet potatoes, a few sliced cherry tomatoes that were threatening to go bad, and 1/2 bag baby spinach. Served with warmed Naan. DYN-O-MITE!! rave reviews from the fam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peekers93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trumansburg, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Excellent. Flavorful. Spicy, deep rich taste. Made it exactly as listed except I increased cooking time by 10 minutes or so because lentils were not tender to my liking. Highly recommended, especially for cold weather .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States