Chorizo and Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This is so good and so simple to make. The smell is amazing when cooking. I made it as written and it was very good. Second time I added a 2 tablespoon of tomato paste and used chicken stock instead of water and it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marlena C.
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This stew is fabulous! The flavors are complimentary, and not overpowering. My local store did not have bulk chorizo, so I used a 1 lb. package of chorizo links, removed the casings, browned and sliced 'em. I may actually use 1.5 lbs. next time, just to have a little more meat. I also used chicken broth instead of water, which made the stew almost too salty, so reduced sodium broth is probably the way to go. My BF was a little turned off by the lentils, so I may even try a different bean next time, just to change it up a little (an 8 or 16 bean blend would probably be nice). All in all, a fantastic recipe that will definitely be at the top of my soup list. UPDATE: I made this again, doubled the chorizo, and used a 13 bean blend in place of just lentils. Love it, love it, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlena C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Delicious stew! The chorizo gives it a smoky flavor. I added potatoes and carrots to make it a true one-pot meal, great for a chilly evening'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ita
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I had some kale that I needed to use up and I wanted to use it in something that would do dinner and have leftovers for lunch. I used the advanced search on allrecipes to find this. It was great. I think I overcooked it slightly though - my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ita

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
The flavors in this recipe are very, very good, but it's not what I would call a stew. The only change I made to the recipe was substituting a can of chicken broth for some water (I still used 3 cups of liquid) and it came out more like a thick sauce you would eat over rice than something eaten from a bowl. In fact, with the exception of the chorizo this had very strong Indian flavors. It was tasty enough that I'll make it again; the only reason for four stars instead of five is that the "stew" implies it's a meal in itself, whereas it really needs a little something to go with it. Next time I'll serve it over Basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I'm gonna make this tonight. Even better if you can find Lamb Chorizo. I'm drooling as I type. The people who edited the recipe said to use bulk stuff that crumbles... but I prefer to slice chorizo and fry it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
This recipe was good but I thought it lacked in a couple of areas. My family likes A LOT of flavor so that may be why. I added Corriander to give it a little more brightness. Next time I will add a leafy green such as Kale. It could use the texture of something like that and why not fit in something extra nutritious whenever you can?! I'm looking forward to making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star_Eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Very very good, and easy for an after-work meal. Just used italian sausage to tone down the spice a little and added some onions because, well, we put onions in everything :-) Overall a great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This will be a keeper! I had never thought of using Chorizo in anything other than eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Island Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I identified this as an Indian inspried dish right away and I have been so excited to try it! I found it when trying to find a dish to make with Chorizo after I found a veggie soy version of the sause and wanted to try it. I added some potatoes, onions and peas in place of the celery and served with some warm Naan. I also think cauliflower would work really well here too. There is a lot of room for experimentation and variety. Next time I will make some rice to serve over, this dish is amazing and it going to become a staple in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States