Chorizo and Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Ms. SassyRoo
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This was really good! When I said what I was making for dinner my girlfriend turned her nose up at it (she doesn't care much for lentils). But after her first bite she was in heaven. I added an onion, some kale, and used chiken broth instead of water. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. SassyRoo

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Salinas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Never really made lentils before and this was the perfect recipe for a first timer. I did make some tweeks due to what I had/didn't have on hand. Didn't use celery, didn't use curry, didn't use, turmeric. DID use 1 chopped red onion, DID use 1/2 teaspoon dried crushed oregano, DID use 1 cooking spoon of spanish style tomato sauce, DID use 1 packet of ham bouillon, DID stir in cilantro at the end. DELISH!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ds R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sabana Grande, Sabana Grande, Puerto Rico
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Delicious!! I followed the recipe, except for using chicken broth in place of water and I added a small onion as the 1st step. I also used a good chorizo sausage link, sliced. It's a keeper -- thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Great base recipe. I used the Mexican style pork chorizo and it turned out great. I definitely made this my own, using a 16 oz. bag of lentils, subbed 6 cups chicken broth for the water, only 2 ribs celery, added onions, carrots and spinach. I held off on the turmeric and curry powder and used cumin, crushed red pepper, oregano and tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
This was really gross. First off- i used Mexican Chorizo Sausage which basically cooks down into what looks like hamburger which made this dish look like dog food and it didnt taste much better. I think if i would have used another type of link sausage this recipe would be much much better. My suggestion: use link sausage and stay away from the Mexican Chorizo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This is so good and so simple to make. The smell is amazing when cooking. I made it as written and it was very good. Second time I added a 2 tablespoon of tomato paste and used chicken stock instead of water and it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Very very good, and easy for an after-work meal. Just used italian sausage to tone down the spice a little and added some onions because, well, we put onions in everything :-) Overall a great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marlena C.
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This stew is fabulous! The flavors are complimentary, and not overpowering. My local store did not have bulk chorizo, so I used a 1 lb. package of chorizo links, removed the casings, browned and sliced 'em. I may actually use 1.5 lbs. next time, just to have a little more meat. I also used chicken broth instead of water, which made the stew almost too salty, so reduced sodium broth is probably the way to go. My BF was a little turned off by the lentils, so I may even try a different bean next time, just to change it up a little (an 8 or 16 bean blend would probably be nice). All in all, a fantastic recipe that will definitely be at the top of my soup list. UPDATE: I made this again, doubled the chorizo, and used a 13 bean blend in place of just lentils. Love it, love it, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlena C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Ita
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I had some kale that I needed to use up and I wanted to use it in something that would do dinner and have leftovers for lunch. I used the advanced search on allrecipes to find this. It was great. I think I overcooked it slightly though - my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ita

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I loved this recipe. Made it just as it said and my family and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States