Chorizo and Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This stew is amazing. I make my own chorizo and so it is always ground chorizo. I put my Lentils in the crock pot with onion, celery, potatoes, carrots, broth/water and spices and in the evening it is an amazing tasty meal that really pleases. I would think this to be a winter meal but I tell you what doing it the crock keeps my house cool and coming home from the lake or pool it really is a great summer meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I followed the directions but added about 1/3 of an onion because I love onions in soup. I didn't find it too spicy or too salty, and I'm generally sensitive to that. Overall, I liked it a lot. But I wished it wasn't so thick and that there would have been more hot chorizo flavor. I think next time I will add at least 2 cups of chicken broth and maybe a bit more chorizo. I also read another review where some spinach was added, that might be a nice touch when there's more liquid. Edit: I made this recipe again and made the following changes--1) add 3 cups of chicken broth, 2) add 1/2 of a medium onion diced, and 3) add 12 oz. ground hot italian sausage. It was phenomenal! If that were the original recipe I'd give that 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Excellent! And incredibly easy. I didn't have celery but added in fresh spinach during the last few minutes of cooking. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missmiavega

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palestine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
If you want this to resemble a stew/soup, you will need to double the liquid. I don't understand having chorizo with the spices listed. It was just ok. I'm going to stick to my usual lentil soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
The flavors in this recipe are very, very good, but it's not what I would call a stew. The only change I made to the recipe was substituting a can of chicken broth for some water (I still used 3 cups of liquid) and it came out more like a thick sauce you would eat over rice than something eaten from a bowl. In fact, with the exception of the chorizo this had very strong Indian flavors. It was tasty enough that I'll make it again; the only reason for four stars instead of five is that the "stew" implies it's a meal in itself, whereas it really needs a little something to go with it. Next time I'll serve it over Basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This was really good. I used fake chorizo, and added in some carrots and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Wow! I know I tweaked this but not much, I made triple the amount and everyone loved it. Thanks for sharing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I added black beans, spinach and used homemade beef broth. Everyone in my family loved it and it was a very hearty and filling meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana
Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Added chopped onion and carrot. My husband REALLY liked it (this is his rating). It was a bit too much on the spicy side for me - I would give 3 stars or dial things down a notch. Cleared out my sinuses though! It came out more like a chili than a stew, but that was fine. Served it with a big green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States