Chorizo and Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
This is a great recipe! I took other reviewers advice and added a teaspoon each of garam masala and coriander, 1 onion, 2 medium potatoes and I used 3 cups of chicken broth and 1 cup water. I only had a half pound of chorizo on hand and it turned out fine with that. I think next time I will stick to only 3 cups of liquid, I'd like it to be more stew-ish. Served over rice it is wonderful! This is definitely going into the rotation, I may try it with chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I love this, although I added potatoes, parsnips and spinach and a couple of diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Don't like the chorizo/lentil combination. I used Mexican chorizo which we do like, but this was just not for us. Still glad I tried it though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Randolph, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Bland and not much fun. Not sure how this got reviewed this high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This was simple and delicious! I added chopped onions (b/c I love them) and a couple peeled and chopped potatoes (to make it more of a one dish meal). I added one cube of a veggie bouillon to round out the flavors and didn't add any salt. I used 2 chicken chorizo sausages that were precooked (Aidelles), so I just diced them and added it in with the onions when I sauteed them. I added a touch more liquid than called for so it wouldn't be quite as thick, though it was still a thicker stew. Seasonings were basic and delicious! This one is going in the monthly rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Ingraham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Like other reviewers I added onions, carrots, potatoes, garam masala, coriander & spinach. But I also added a dash each of red wine vinegar and Worcestershire sauce. That really enhanced the flavors for me. My husband and 3 year old liked it, too! A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Very good, well liked at my house. I added onions and about a cup of diced butternut squash, both sauteed at the beginning, before adding the chorizo. I also tossed in a bit of leftover diced cooked carrots and green beans near the end of cooking. I served with some hot corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oak Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I identified this as an Indian inspried dish right away and I have been so excited to try it! I found it when trying to find a dish to make with Chorizo after I found a veggie soy version of the sause and wanted to try it. I added some potatoes, onions and peas in place of the celery and served with some warm Naan. I also think cauliflower would work really well here too. There is a lot of room for experimentation and variety. Next time I will make some rice to serve over, this dish is amazing and it going to become a staple in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Great flavor, but I made a few modifications. I sauteed chopped onions with the garlic before adding the chorizo. I also added chopped carrots, turnip, potatoes, and leeks along with the celery. Since I added all these extras, I upped the water by another cup and added some chicken bouillon to add more flavor. This definitely made it more "stew" like. So great to eat on a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This 'stew' is delicious, though I added a little extra water and some italian spice mix (with a bit of chili in it) to give it a bit more oomph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States