Chorizo and Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Like other reviewers I added onions, carrots, potatoes, garam masala, coriander & spinach. But I also added a dash each of red wine vinegar and Worcestershire sauce. That really enhanced the flavors for me. My husband and 3 year old liked it, too! A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Very good, well liked at my house. I added onions and about a cup of diced butternut squash, both sauteed at the beginning, before adding the chorizo. I also tossed in a bit of leftover diced cooked carrots and green beans near the end of cooking. I served with some hot corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oak Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I identified this as an Indian inspried dish right away and I have been so excited to try it! I found it when trying to find a dish to make with Chorizo after I found a veggie soy version of the sause and wanted to try it. I added some potatoes, onions and peas in place of the celery and served with some warm Naan. I also think cauliflower would work really well here too. There is a lot of room for experimentation and variety. Next time I will make some rice to serve over, this dish is amazing and it going to become a staple in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Great flavor, but I made a few modifications. I sauteed chopped onions with the garlic before adding the chorizo. I also added chopped carrots, turnip, potatoes, and leeks along with the celery. Since I added all these extras, I upped the water by another cup and added some chicken bouillon to add more flavor. This definitely made it more "stew" like. So great to eat on a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This 'stew' is delicious, though I added a little extra water and some italian spice mix (with a bit of chili in it) to give it a bit more oomph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Didn't care for this-too bland, will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
What a great meal I was able to make! I served this with the Simple Spiced Rice recipe from this site for a Indian-inspired dinner. I used Cacique Beef Chorizo, chicken broth instead of water, added 1 tsp of garam masala and no salt or pepper. I loved the texture, taste and spice! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2sabes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I really enjoyed this dish and its quick and so easy to make. I substituted turkey sausage for chorizo. I didn't have curry powder on hand but I had jerk seasoning powder. Man did that work out well. Next time I'll throw in some sauteed onions and chopped potatoes. It would definitely be great for a rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This stew is amazing. I make my own chorizo and so it is always ground chorizo. I put my Lentils in the crock pot with onion, celery, potatoes, carrots, broth/water and spices and in the evening it is an amazing tasty meal that really pleases. I would think this to be a winter meal but I tell you what doing it the crock keeps my house cool and coming home from the lake or pool it really is a great summer meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States